Setting the Vegetables ~Grow your Own~

The Kidney Beans are in

The Kidney Beans are In, and already climbing the canes,

Cabbage 

So too is the Cabbage we have since set the Red Cabbage along side, It is covered with Wire at the moment as the allotment soon has lots of Visiting Pigeons and they just love to eat new cabbage leaves..

sweetcorn

The Sweet-corn is one of our favourites, and we had a bumper crop last year, which we froze and are just coming to the end of eating from storage in the Freezer.. Family and friends always comment on how much sweeter home grown Corn on the Cob tastes..

onions

The Onions and Shallots have come through nicely now, and you can see the two Pea rows coming to the left of them.

I had weeded the two onion rows on the right, Next Job weeding the Shallots 3 rows..Arrgh my back aches!..

Weeding Onions

Great Idea, Go and get the chair out the the shed… Arrgh that’s Better, not so back breaking now.. Smile  

Just thought I would share How My Garden Grows! with Pretty maids All in a ROW!

Winking smile Now Of course I will leave you to guess about the Pretty maid! Smile 

Have a Great Sunday!

 

79 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Valentine Logar
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 17:05:24

    I remember having space for some of this! I loved fresh vegetables! That looks wonderful, especially the chair 😉

    Like

    Reply

  2. Visionkeeper
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 17:14:36

    Beautiful garden DW ! Looks so well tended. Very good and I send you praises for your efforts. I sit on a little wagon on wheels so I can roll along. Things aren’t as easy as we age. Mine finally got planted two days ago. The night of the planting and all day yesterday we had pouring rain and driving winds and I thought about my tender young plants being beaten down, but I made a conscious effort to let it go. The next four days were to be cold with rain anyway. I awoke today to sunshine and happy plants!! I swear God was rewarding me for my effort to go with the flow. I thanked him kindly. So all is well.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 16:32:36

      Im happy the sun came out and you have Happy Plants… We too had a couple of days after these photos of cooler rainy weather… And yes the Chair I used for the first time.. My back has been aching rather alot.. another symptom of moving forward… and I am now moving with the flow once again.. Thank you.. And living in Gratitude for Life’s blessings is something we should all learn to do… Many thanks again VK… DW.. x

      Like

      Reply

  3. creatingreciprocity
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 17:45:51

    Looks fantastic! I never thought of growing corn – such a great idea.

    Like

    Reply

  4. wightrabbit
    Jun 03, 2012 @ 20:21:56

    Wow – that’s a lot of different veg! I only have small beds and pots but my plants are coming along nicely, despite the awful weather we are experiencing this weekend. Home grown produce does taste so much better, I agree!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 16:38:08

      Its also amazing what can be grown in small pots too… and happy your own planting is coming along well… Yes Bank holiday weather is usually raining.. 🙂 We have to Shine on our plants some TLC instead!.. Hope you enjoyed your weekend .. Sue

      Like

      Reply

  5. Raymond Alexander Kukkee
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 01:20:20

    Wow, great garden, Sue! See? Your positive thoughts work in the garden too–and by the way, the chair is a smart idea for weeding!
    Here we mulch everything thickly using old hay, straw, leaves, etc..and collaring the plants, the mulch chokes off the weeds. It also feeds the earthworms and keeps moisture–making the garden much more productive! We also use raised beds and more intensive planting. May your garden be blessed, Sue! ~R

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 16:41:19

      Thank you Raymond,, Mulch is a very good idea and would take alot of that Weeding stress away… I can see I will have to maybe take you up on your very good advice.. The Chair was a Godsend that day I can tell you.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  6. prenin
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 02:48:04

    Hard work, but worth it! 🙂

    Hope you have a bumper harvest!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    Reply

  7. dreamingthruthetwilight
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 09:27:56

    How lucky you are to be able to do all of this:-)

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 16:45:00

      Nadira, if I may call you that.. Thank you so very much for leaving me your kind comment.. And Yes I am extremely lucky to be able to do ALL of this.. Welcome to my Sanctuary.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  8. natswans
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 10:54:17

    Wow you are doing really well , hard at work there. I hope you don’t get too many visitors eating your veg Sue. I have put flowers in some have survived and sad to say some haven’t .. and that is a very good idea , sitting down.
    Have a good few days Holiday or working one .
    Hugs Sheila xx

    Like

    Reply

  9. giselzitrone
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 13:59:48

    Wünsche dir einen schönen Tag es müssten viel mehr Menschen ihre Gemüse anbauen wir haben einen Karten bauen auch Bohnen Möhren und so allerlei an ich finde das schön.Wünsche dir eine schöne sonnige Woche Gruss Gislinde

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 04, 2012 @ 16:54:03

      Vielen Dank Gislinde und wünscht Ihnen ein fröhliches Wochenende auch .. und ich danke Ihnen für Ihre Kommentare auf meinen Garten .. Liebe Sue xx
      Many thanks Gislinde, wishing you a Happy Week also.. and thank you for your comments upon my Garden.. Love Sue xx

      Like

      Reply

  10. marciento
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 18:35:05

    Cześć! Życzę Ci by z tych sadzonek jak najszybciej wyrosły piękne warzywa. Miłego tygodnia!

    Like

    Reply

  11. europasicewolf
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 20:06:56

    Coming along lovely 🙂 Always good to get close to nature…just be very careful of your back!! x

    Like

    Reply

  12. aussieian2011
    Jun 04, 2012 @ 23:59:51

    A great looking garden Sue and obviously well tended, your sweet corn sounds delicious,been a gardener in my life many times but never seen such a beautiful garden as yours
    Cheers
    Ian
    Think I would need a chair at my age and back too

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:03:06

      Thank you Ian, about the beautiful tended garden.. But I could photograph you much better ones than ours upon the allotments with fruit trees flowers and even a lawned area beside that garden shed on some plots.. Home from Home are some.. This is the year I pouring more energy into growing.. both in the garden and in Spirit!… Thank you again Ian.. ~Sue

      Like

      Reply

  13. granbee
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 00:16:19

    Growing our own food, even in multi-tiered vertical gardens hanging off high-rise apartment complexes as they do in Japan, is something we all need to be doing! Hooray, Sue!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:10:17

      Yes we do not need a plot of land, and before I had this allotment, I used to grow veggies in tubs on the back’Yard’ as you I think call it.. 🙂 We should all try it.. for we may never know when we may ALL need to start and be more Self Sufficient..

      Like

      Reply

  14. Renee Espriu
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 00:21:52

    I commend you! It has been many years since I planted a garden (when my children were young) but now it is all I can do to keep up with the weeds in my borders before they choke my flowers. I see above that you speak German? I so love languages and took it for a bit in grade school as a part of my mother’s relatives on her mother’s side were German. I remember my Aunt holding me in her lap and teaching me to count to ten in German. Take care and take care of your back around all that weeding.:)

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:15:18

      Thanks Renee about the concern of my back, I will take very good care.. And yes as we grow that little bit older it becomes a little harder in keeping up with all of those weeds where ever they grow.. And bless you.. No I speak about 4 or five words of German and count to Ten too.. The same with French As we didnt take language when I was at school, I use Google Translate.. a very useful tool.. One I couldnt live without to communicate with my lovely German Friend Gislinde.. 😉 Maybe when I run out of books to read and flowers to plant, Maybe then I should take up learning a different language.. We English are Very Lazy expecting everyone else to learn our Language.. Hugs to you Renee.. x

      Like

      Reply

  15. Gabrielle
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 00:21:57

    It looks like you’ll have your work cut out there Sue. It must take you ages to weed all of that! 🙂 You’ll need a big freezer too.
    (((hugs)))

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 05, 2012 @ 20:17:15

      Hi Gabrielle.. Yes keeping on top of it is the thing.. a couple of hours of a night and Yes I have two big freezers.. One in the Garage and an extended Family who love the veggies we give them.. 🙂 So not much goes to waste..

      Like

      Reply

  16. purpleskyz
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 03:58:31

    Beautiful garden!
    I am hoping to get some veggies in soon. I mostly container garden but still grows some nice vegs.
    HAPPY LUNAR ECLIPSE EVERYONE!

    Like

    Reply

  17. morristownmemos by Ronnie Hammer
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 16:24:50

    Your garden is beautiful. What you say is so true: even parsley tastes sweeter when plucked right from my herb garden!

    Like

    Reply

  18. Sabina Brave
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 18:34:18

    I don’t like weeding, but I like flowers, so I have to weed my garden time to time. But it looks like a jungle 😉
    Vegetable from own garden are great thing. 🙂
    Love and hugs for you 🙂
    xxx

    Like

    Reply

  19. Shakti Ghosal
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 19:04:38

    Dear Sue,

    Seeing the photos, I can only say you are Blessed.

    In most parts of the world, even if one holds the intention to grow a garden, one lacks the space.

    I move away from your post, feeling refreshed. Thank you!

    Shakti

    Like

    Reply

  20. Shakti Ghosal
    Jun 05, 2012 @ 19:07:47

    Dear Sue,

    Seeing your garden pictures, I can only say that you are blessed.

    In most places I know of, even if one holds the intention, one lacks the space.

    I move away feeling refreshed. Thank you.

    Shakti

    Like

    Reply

  21. Androgoth
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 22:02:26

    There is nothing like a good weeding
    session to build up a fangtastic appetite 🙂
    Blimey I am getting hungry just observing
    your fine weed pulling skills 😉 🙂 lol

    Have a lovely evening and
    well don on your crops 🙂 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply

  22. Red
    Jun 06, 2012 @ 23:03:43

    All of it looks divine. My neighbor’s garden is filling in nicely and will be ready for its first harvests soon. We have seedlings started for the children now. They have enjoyed watching them sprout!

    What happy memories!
    {HUGZ}
    Red.

    Like

    Reply

  23. Jo Bryant
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 03:34:44

    How great that you get all that produce – clean and at minimum cost

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:44:21

      Thank you Jo, well the Cost! has gone up, the rent of the allotment for a start has more than doubled since we took it on.. and the costs of seeds are getting more and more. but we try to save alot of our own seeds to set.. and dry our beans and peas out for setting etc… But it is still cheaper than Supermarket rates and you know what hasnt been sprayed on it all.. Good Organic Veggies.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  24. giselzitrone
    Jun 07, 2012 @ 14:02:32

    Wünsche dir Morgen einen schöne sonnigen Feiertag und Grüsse lieb Gislinde

    Like

    Reply

  25. cat
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 08:00:54

    Beautiful garden, Sue … I’m trying to keep up wit my garden here in AB, Canada …. 100 frost free days ..but I’m enjoying each and very one of them … Love you much, cat.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:46:49

      Hi Cat, glad your frost free,, The weather here turned alot colder and with wind and rain now.. The gardens are loving the rain.. so are the weeds 🙂 But I am now ready for some more Sun, I think my joints are turning to Rust! 🙂 .. Enjoy your weekend. Sue

      Like

      Reply

  26. Doris
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 15:54:18

    you have a beautiful garden Sue,
    have a wonderful weekend my dear friend… hugs

    Like

    Reply

  27. Cat Forsley
    Jun 08, 2012 @ 21:58:47

    THANK YOU ……..
    JUST THANK YOU ……….
    HAVE A BEAUTIFUL WEEKEND ……XX

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 08, 2012 @ 22:16:59

      You too Cat… 🙂 keep writing and creating.. x

      Like

      Reply

      • Cat Forsley
        Jun 08, 2012 @ 22:25:22

        UR THE ONE THAT TOLD ME A GAZILLION YEARS AGO TO JUST ENJOY MY LIFE ….
        I FINALLY AM ……:)

        I AM ALWAYS GONNA REMIND YOU OF THAT ….:) 🙂 🙂 BECAUSE IT MEANS SO MUCH TO ME ………………. JUST BE YOU !!!!!!!!! LOL
        THANK YOU …….
        I USUALLY DO MY CRYING ON WEDNESDAYS AND THURSDAYS !!!!! LOL …
        WAIT – TODAY IS FRIDAY ,…………..:)
        IT’S A GRATEFUL FRIDAY ……
        IT’S A GRATEFUL NOW ….:) XX
        LOVE XX

        Like

        Reply

  28. Oceanwaves
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 14:19:10

    It’s all looking so good and yummy Sue…making me hungry 😛
    Thats actually quite alot there you have growing…you can open a vegable stall 🙂 make a few bucks. I envy you..wish I could grow my own veggies. I just love sweet corn too.
    It is amazing how quick it grows too.
    Good tip about using the chair lol….pretty clever maid if you ask me 🙂
    will all be worth it in the end…!

    Thankyou Sue for your visits hun..been away on a short vacation, so sorry I could
    not get by earlier.
    Happy gardening hun, kisses and hugs Traceyxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 10, 2012 @ 18:49:15

      Lovely to see you back Tracey, and smiling, we do gie rather alot away, and family never go short.. Yes all worth it Tracey, And thank you so much for dropping by my garden. x Hugs x

      Like

      Reply

  29. Bodhirose
    Jun 09, 2012 @ 17:34:26

    Beautiful, Sue! How industrious you are. Long ago, I had to start sitting on a low stool in the garden while weeding..it’s too much on more poor back. I love your photos..thanks for sharing.

    Like

    Reply

  30. CMSmith
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 16:33:58

    Your garden is awesome. I try to use a little gardening bench that I have. I see your chair works just as well. It can be back-breaking work. And I don’t know about you, but I’m not getting any younger.

    Like

    Reply

  31. Oceanwaves
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 19:19:52

    Hiya Sue, thankyou for your replies hun….it is always a pleasure to come by here and read from you 🙂
    Very nice weather here today….hope so in England for you too.
    It’s evening now of course but it still seems like the afternoon..so light outside still lol..
    hugs to you, Traceyxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 10, 2012 @ 19:24:02

      Yes Tracey, the sun is shining here today, and still is.. We saw a wonderful site too today around the Sun, A huge halo of a rainbow that arched around the top of the sun.. Im sure there is a term for it. but it was a beautiful bonus to a lovely day.. Sue xxx 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  32. Oceanwaves
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 19:43:52

    Yes and you have this effect on people too….a halo of spreading light 🙂
    much love Traceyxx

    Like

    Reply

  33. jennygoth666
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 22:45:16

    hi dreamer great garden mines called a wild one lol drives me wild trying to keep it right but i try frogs love it have a great week xjen

    Like

    Reply

  34. rumpydog
    Jun 10, 2012 @ 22:50:42

    Ahhh…. the anticipation of the bounty of the harvest!

    Like

    Reply

  35. chicasl10
    Jun 11, 2012 @ 17:41:03

    There is nothing better then ur own vegetables U know exactly what u eat.
    But ur back lol
    be carefull lady ur not 21 .lol
    just kidding Sue
    be well and enjoy the works. Let it grow!

    Like

    Reply

  36. Doris
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 16:05:06

    Thank you for your visit Sue, I am always happy to see you on my WP
    I hope your week is going good hun..
    big hug

    Like

    Reply

  37. beautifulchaos2
    Jun 12, 2012 @ 22:05:38

    Sue!!!:-) It’s good to see you again and read your post! I love fresh veggies but have no idea how to grow a garden of them, and these days I live in a condo so I cant anyway. But from your photos you look brilliant at it! lucky you:)
    Thanks so much for not forgetting me while I was gone, I’ve been reading your wonderful comments…always so good to hear from you, thanks Sue. I hope to be spending much more time on wp now so i’ll be back to catch up more soon.
    Big hugs,(not bugs) lol, Nikki xo

    Like

    Reply

  38. Deb
    Jun 22, 2012 @ 13:49:31

    Your garden is looking marvelous, Sue! You keep up the hard work…it’s always worth all that effort!
    Love and Hugs xo

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jun 22, 2012 @ 13:58:03

      Yes worth all of the effort Deb, I am resting today however… Rained off, plus a tad too much hoeing of weeds which made the old back creek just a bit.. 🙂 .. So a day on the PC.. to try the impossible and catch up! both on mine and others… Enjoy your own weekend.. I shall be away next week for a few days, a short break.. but I will play catch up again.. Thank you for your most welcome visits Deb.. Sue xx

      Like

      Reply

      • Deb
        Jun 22, 2012 @ 21:34:20

        I hope your time away will be of all good. You will be missed. Catch up…lol, I guess that is just part of the joy of blogging.
        Stay well, and stay safe.
        Hugs a plenty xoxo

        Like

        Reply

  39. Green Thumb
    Jun 24, 2012 @ 17:06:57

    That is a huge garden, no wonder you need a chair…
    Hope you have a great growing season

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com
Sue Dreamwalker

Sue Dreamwalker

Each of us, carries within us the capacity to change the world in small ways for better or worse. Everything we do and think affects the people in our lives, and their reactions in turn affect others As the effect of a seemingly insignificant word passes from person to person, its impact grows and can become a source of great joy, inspiration, anxiety, or pain. Your thoughts and actions are like stones dropped into still waters, causing ripples to spread and expand as they move outward.. I hope that I can send a few ripples out via the web of life, as we each of us weave the threads together... Welcome to my Sanctuary of Peace and Love... May we each spread our Lights around our World....Sue Dreamwalker

Personal Links

View Full Profile →

Help The Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

June 2012
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Free E-Book to download.

Part Two E-book of True Awakening Experiences, complied by Barbara Franklin and WordPress Friends.

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Akiane Kramarik. Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Automatic Channelled Writing Avaaz Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Books Butterfly Caring change Changes Children Choices Climate Change Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Diving Deeper Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Elder Tree Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Freedom Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Kindness Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Matrix Mayan Calendar Media meditation mind Monsanto Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Perspective Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Remembrance Day Samhain Scotland Seeds Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site