As busy as a Bee!

It has been a while since I posted here upon the progress of our allotment, as I share more within my Garden Blog Dreamwalker’s Garden along with walks in the countryside. Simply because I am aware of the space I take up now here with my photo’s. So that is why I started my other blog. 

But I wanted to share and maybe introduce others to the wonders of ‘Growing Your Own‘… Also I wish say thank you to all for you wonderful support here at Dreamwalker’s Sanctuary and welcome all those who are new followers here and to my Gardening blog.

Yesterday it was a wonderfully Sunny day, very Spring like. The weather here in the UK has been full of April showers, fluctuating from warm to icy winds, rain and hail, to snow.

So we make ever effort to make use of the fine days to walk and get in the garden.

My Husband is the one who gets all the credit this time of year as he is the one doing all the heavy spade work.. I more or less direct from the side lines, until the planting of crops start. I am the one who prunes, hoe’s up the weeds and collects in the harvests.. So first here is the first photo as the potatoes are now in.

Potato Crops now in

Potato Crops now in We have 3 rows of earlies and 5 rows of late..

And so are the Brassica’s

Brassica's under cover

Brassica’s under cover to protect from egg laying butterflies .

Keeping a plot this size weed free is not easy, and many who take on the allotments are not prepared for the hard work that it takes to keep them maintained.. So we have seen a few who took on allotments only a couple of years ago leave.. Plus a few old friends who have had to give up their allotments due to ill-health.. We were sorry to see a fellow allotmenteer  two plots away say goodbye to his plot simply due to ill-health and him not being able to keep it maintained .. But we bought his shed from him.. My husband managed to take it down, it has to yet be erected to where we want it.. In the mean time its in pieces behind our other shed 

Garden shed

Newer shed soon to be put in place at the side of the other one..

The Peas, Turnips, Beetroot and onion sets are in along with Parsnip too.

The Greenhouse is a hub of growth at the moment too, as is our spare bedroom.. I am growing tomato plants and I am trying this year to grow ‘Egg plants’- Abergines.

Tomato Plants

Tomato Plants

I am especially delighted as 4 of these  Tomato plants are from a yellow cherry tomato I had given me last year from another gardener.. They were so sweet I took the seeds from a ripe tomato and dried the seeds out on some kitchen paper.. I didn’t think they would germinate, but all of them did.

With the weather going from warm to cold so quickly we have rescued a number of bees recently too.. Who have felt the cold and become lethargic.. For more facts about Bumble Bees Visit Here We put this Bee who was hardly moving on our lawn onto our wall flower holder which still has some pansies in.. I went in doors and put a small amount of honey from a fresh honeycomb I had onto a leaf and spoon full in the the holder.  It wasn’t long before his long tongue came out and he was lapping up the energy and he flew away..  Today he along with some other Bee friends have been back 🙂

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

To finish off are just a couple of Spring Photos from our Garden.

Wishing you and yours a wonderful week

~Sue~

 

 

 

146 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Heartafire
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 15:21:28

    A beautiful post Sue. I am a country girl at heart raised part time on a farm growing up. I miss the earth and crops and large gardens. Thank you for sharing this lovely day ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  2. Visionkeeper
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 15:22:45

    Always a busy beaver you are…Glad my garden isn’t that big as I couldn’t tend it alone for sure!!! Still chilly here but cold crops can go in now…Tilling must happen first…Enjoy your time my friend. I know you love it! Well, maybe not the weeding part 🙂 Don’t know anyone who loves that….VK ❤

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  3. agwnowb
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 15:24:45

    Trying to comment lately but problems with WP recognizing me again. Hoping this will do it, but not going to hold my breath. Angie http://reflectionsonlife281.wordpress.com formerly an angel

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  4. Richard Ankers
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 15:38:52

    I think I visted the Brassicas once. Lovely place 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  5. Dewin Nefol
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 16:23:50

    Hey Sue,

    How are you doing? 🙂

    I’ve been offline for a couple of weeks due to technical issues with the p.c, but now repaired, I thought I’d chance a quick wander to your Derbyshire allotment with a thermos of tea and a pack of digestives and see if the gardening crew wanted a well-deserved break 🙂 In my absence it seems all the hard work has already been done and the soil lovingly prepped, potatoes and veg planted and the patch slowly bursting into life. The yellow cherry tomatoes sound nice…will they all be eaten Sue, or will you make relish?

    Great photographs as always…I was surprised at the size of your allotment – far larger than I had at first imagined! You guys certainly have your work cut-out….so it is a good job you are energetically ‘directing’ the operation from the side-lines’…after-all, someone has to take charge of an operation that big lol 😀

    I had to giggle at the spare-room ‘house plants’ How very green living! 🙂 I guess once the new shed goes up, you’ll be propagating and seeding outdoors again?

    I recall the family once ‘owning’ an allotment, somewhere in Hertfordshire I think. I was not a frequent visitor, preferring to enjoy Nature without the spade-work (lol), but I remember both mum and dad disappearing off most Saturday afternoon’s throughout the spring and summer months, and there always being fresh veg for dinner. The times I did go with them were largely spent in a deckchair wrapped in coat and sacking and trying to raise a smile as the wind howled in or the rain came tumbling down. Ah, heady days indeed! 😀

    Loved the Bee story Sue…and that the one ‘helped’ by a drop of honey came back with friends. It must be the warmth of your welcome and the quality of the honey that keeps them buzzing 🙂

    I’m looking forward to harvest time! 🙂 I think I missed the feast at your dinner table last year…nothing but a smidgen of butter in the bottom of the serving bowl by the time I read your Blog…so will keep a close eye on your postings here to see when it’s a good time to visit for food. I’m free most Sundays lol 😀

    Hoping all is well with y’all, and despite a soggy, windy, wet and cold start to spring, you’re wearing a smile and strumming a tune 🙂 If its any consolation, Wales has faired just as bad weather-wise as England this year…and although today brought some sunshine and warmth, I’d still put a tenner on it raining by morning! One day I will head for the sun 🙂

    Have a great week. Take care of one and all 🙂

    Namaste

    DN – 18/04/2016

    P.S Good luck with the ‘egg-plants’. 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 22:26:57

      Dear Dewin.. forgive the late response.. and thank you so much for you lovely indepth comment.. Yes its a largest plot.. and keeps us busy More so my hubby this time of year as he winter digs and adds manure etc.. I am off there tomorrow to prune the raspberries.. I am a bit late with this.. But all will catch up.. Then I know I have some hoeing to do as the weeds have enjoyed the sunshine these past couple of days..

      Yes the Bee survived and has been back for another little sweetner of honey.. And I love watching how their energy returns.. We forget how busy the bee is and how exhausted it gets especially when the temperature drops so quickly..

      Good to know your parents were both keen gardeners.. And nothing beats fresh veggies on the table.. I grew up with my Granddad and Dad both having allotments and learnt a lot when I was a child.. And spent many a Saturday and Sunday helping my Dad..

      Glad the technical issues are seemingly sorted.. I had a few of my own today.. I got very frustrated as each time I logged into WP my PC froze.. But thankfully after a few alterations to my browser I hope it is now sorted..
      I think I must have re-booted 20 times then gave it up as a bad job. 🙂 lol.. And came back this evening to sort out..

      Hope you will be adding your own sequel soon too Dewin.. Looking forward to reading..

      I May not be around tomorrow though.. As I am in the veggie patch.. 🙂

      Thank you again for the lovely comment..
      See you soon..

      Sue

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  6. Writing to Freedom
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 16:47:26

    You are buzzing with spring & garden fever Sue. 🙂 I admire your passion and dedication to keep such a large garden. I would prefer a smaller garden, and this year I may not have one at all since I’m moving into an apartment. Or maybe I’ll try a community garden.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  7. IreneDesign2011
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 16:55:05

    What a lovely post Sue 😀
    You have such a nice garden and good to hear, that you are sharing the hard work with your husbond. So nice to grow your own. I hope to get a garden next time too.
    Wish you a great time in your garden and an even better harvest for that time.
    Much love, Irene

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  8. Cynthia
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 17:05:17

    Buzz…buzzzz bizzzy bizzzy. Hehe, I know how it goes! We planted some seeds this weekend and with a little luck we’ll have a better garden living in town than we did living in the country. Hehe.
    Hope you’re well, dear Sue! Have a Marvelous Monday!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  9. Eddie Two Hawks
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 17:05:29

    A great start to a fine year ahead of gardening with plenty of good looking vegetables. Sending love and best of everything for your exploits in sun and soil. with love, Eddie

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  10. suzicate
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 17:11:18

    Lots of hard work, but oh, the wonderful fresh eats you’ll have this summer!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  11. Teagan Geneviene
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 17:38:24

    What a wonderful garden, Sue! I don’t have a green thumb at all… But it would be nice to give it a little try. This is purely lovely. Mega hugs.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  12. writersdream9
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 18:39:08

    Hard work but oh so fulfilling! Working with Mother grounds and centers, huh? Thank you for sharing!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  13. Val Boyko
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 19:41:43

    So exciting! I love this time of year ❤️

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  14. Erika Kind
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 20:04:20

    Wow, what a huge garden! That is a lot of work! I admire you but I also understand you. I love my garden. Unfortunately, I just don’t have so much time to care for it anymore. That is lovely what you did for the bee and you got rewarded with more bees. So cute!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 21:27:39

      Thank you Erika.. this plot is away from our home garden.. I do not know if you are familiar with how allotments work.. We rent a plot of land allotted for growing veggies in the community..
      Gardening is very therapeutic , and I hope you find time to spend more time creating within your garden.. Its where I find healing and become grounded with our Earth Mother.
      And yes I think the Bee said thank you 🙂 as he came back, for more honey after he had flown away.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • Erika Kind
        Apr 19, 2016 @ 21:44:03

        Actually I am often in my garden (it is my extended living room) and work outside instead of inside. It is pretty big and I created a beautiful island of it. 30 rose bushes and about the same amount lavender bushes, lilac, grasses, flowers, flowers, flowers all over. I just don’t have so much time to pull out weed anymore for example or to create even more flower spots around. I am busy enough with what I already have… lol ☺

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  15. Marko
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 20:14:43

    Hello Sue
    I wish you a nice new week.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  16. Barbara Franken
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 20:28:00

    How lovely to join you admiring your garden sue… Here’s to another abundant harvest this year.. Love to you, barbara x

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  17. prenin
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 20:59:25

    Spring is sprung, the grass is riz I wonder where the boidy is?

    Some say da Boidy is on da wing!

    Abzoid abzoid!

    Da wing is on da boid!!! 🙂

    Glad to see things are going so well Sue!!! 🙂

    Love and huge spring hugs!!! 🙂

    Prenin.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  18. JoAnn Chateau
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 21:26:21

    Gorgeous huge gardens. More like a small farm! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 21:17:29

      I guess to many it can appear like a small farm,.. Many allotment holders have hens.. we did consider having some… But the commitment means going to the allotments EVERY Day.. to ensure they are fed and watered for their well being…During the winter we both need a rest .. So we decided against having hens. But we have had some wonderful eggs from neighbouring plots who give eggs away 🙂 now and again.

      Lovely to have you visit JoAnn… Hugs your way xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  19. Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 22:47:39

    Looks so great, Sue! Our growing season is so short. It is snowing today. Deer, squirrels, gophers…and a lot of wind. I’m hoping for good weekend farmer’s markets in the nearest little town. haha. We will grow some things, but nothing like yours!! Thanks for sharing.
    Peace
    Mary

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 21:11:24

      We are very lucky compared to your Hemisphere Mary , And I am sure your farmers Markets provide lots of healthy fresh produce just as good..

      Nothing beats home grown.. And harvesting fresh and cooking it the same day though.. We both know how lucky we are with our allotment xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

      • Walking My Path: Mindful Wanderings in Nature
        Apr 19, 2016 @ 23:04:49

        One really special thing on our land is wild asparagus. Mmmmmm! Just eating it right there, or bringing it to the house for a quick little steam. Bill likes it cooked a little. I love it either way. Soon….next month. 🙂

        Liked by 2 people

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Apr 20, 2016 @ 19:25:55

          I so so love Asparagus too.. We were thinking of getting some this year in Feb.. We saw some on sale to plant.. But said we would wait and get them the following week.. Well the following week they had sold out.. LOL.. But we will.. I am told they do not need a lot of looking after but you need to leave from harvesting them for the first year and harvest only on the second.. I like it steamed for 4 mins lol.. but can eat raw too 🙂 xxx 🙂

          Liked by 1 person

          Reply

  20. Ines Radman
    Apr 18, 2016 @ 23:04:43

    Your tomatoes are the same size as mine Sue…I love looking at your garden and it’s progress. We are have different climate zones. I’m already picking young lettuce because our weather has been extremely above average warm. I wish you all the success this year!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  21. belasbrightideas
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 01:22:42

    Wow, that’s a lot of work! Looks like you have a good deal of clay in your soil? Ours here in rich reddish brown, due to the volcanic nature of the islands. So different. Yours looks more like our Maine soil, but even more gray in color.

    Yesterday I spent the entire day pruning young trees and weeding while my husband crawled under the house to commence rewiring the entire electrical outlet and switching circuitry. He’s already done all the attic work, lights and such, and got halfway through with this project yesterday, though we’re both hobbling around today. And he’s back to building for clients today … I’m lucky I can stay home and recover a bit. Pruning is one thing, but some branches were 10′ long and I had to haul everything away. I didn’t want to leave him all the heavy lifting after his long day. But my body is feeling it today.

    Looking at various bunches of ripe and ready bananas still in the trees is hard, because we haven’t had time to cut them down (you have to cut the entire tree down with the bananas, which is a trick, in itself). Maybe once he’s home from work today. Fruit farming is different from growing veggies. Fruit comes all at once and nobody I know can eat an entire treeload of tangerines at once, or a whole bunch of bananas. As we don’t sell at farmers markets, we network and share what we have, exchanging with others what we lack at a certain time (which hopefully is something different!). And of course our climate is year-round for growing. Which has its own challenges.

    Enjoy your growing season! I remember how attuned I was when we had four drastically different seasons. How icy winters had me looking forward to planting in the spring; how fall meant rush-rush to get everything dug out and picked before first frost. You are lucky to have this lovely allotment, and it’s wonderful your husband participates with you! Aloha and love, Sue!

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 21:06:26

      Dear Bela
      What a wonderful comment .. And how wonderful to have Banana trees and Tangerines.. Yes I can easily see how these cannot be eaten at once when ripe…
      The soil here is quite sandy.. It is through years of adding manure from the farms that it has got much better..
      Sounds like your hubby has been extremely busy too, and sounds as if he has a project and a half going.. Good to know he sounds expert at this electrical work… 🙂
      Sharing and networking with others is great.. This is true community working in unity.. Sharing that which we have in abundance with others for the things we have not..
      In the far distant future this is how I see Community working.. Sharing of food, skills etc… Bartering …
      I maybe in my own reality here.. But is is how I envision the future.. Sharing and caring.. It is how it has to be..

      Many thanks Bela for your excellent comment.. So loved reading… Love and Blessings to you and your hubby.. ❤ Sue xxxx
      Ps.. sorry for the delay, but I have had some issues on WP accessing .. xxx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  22. silentlyheardonce
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 01:48:00

    I enjoyed keeping up with your garden last year. You do so well, wish I had some of your energy. After all the gardening you blog. You are my hero, inspiration. Hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  23. timkeen40
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 03:28:53

    You are quite the busy bee. No one understands the hard work of a garden until they have one. It is easy to plant. All that happens between planting and harvest is a different matter. Keep up the hard work.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  24. balroop2013
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 03:29:47

    Lovely post Sue and I admire that gesture of offering honey to the bee, you are so kind! I am glad you have such a beautiful garden, which yields so many veggies besides flowers! Must be quite challenging to keep it growing well! 🙂 Love your enthusiasm.

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 14:27:31

      Yes I feel the bee was exhausted and needed that little bit of honey.. This Garden is an allotment plot.. which is ground we rent away from our home garden to grow veggies.. It keeps us in veggies most of the year around 🙂 Loved that you enjoyed xx

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  25. Maniparna Sengupta Majumder
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 07:14:44

    What a lovely post, Sue! Your hard work has paid and lo, what a gorgeous yield you have… 🙂

    Liked by 3 people

    Reply

  26. Beverley
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 10:04:36

    Looks like you are both working hard xx

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  27. Hariod Brawn
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 11:36:10

    This was such a delight, Sue, and I am in awe of your productivity, yet also wonder how many mouths you feed with your produce – it must be many more than two! Thankyou for inspiring a thought as regards tomato seeds, which seemed a remarkably successful experiment for you. Good, homegrown tomatoes are one of life’s great pleasures for me; quite beyond compare in taste, as well you know. H ❤

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 19, 2016 @ 12:39:13

      Thank you Hariod.. We are still eating from the Freezer frozen veggies from last Autumns Harvest.. Sweetcorn, Runner beans, Dwaft French Beans.. We only finished off the Peas a couple of weeks ago.. But we have butternut squash and loads of berries that I make smoothies and pies from.. And still manage to give lots away to family and friends 🙂 .. Tomatoes were my first experiment and I saved the dried seeds in an envelope .. And So yes I am excited these took.. Love this time of year and Harvest time lol 🙂 ❤

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  28. Lynz Real Cooking
    Apr 19, 2016 @ 14:29:52

    I love this post and seeing all of your hard work and garden! Wow you have been hard at work! The bee is beautiful!

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  29. stephensmustang1
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 05:10:34

    Lovely post, Sue.
    I love fresh veggies from the garden…somehow just taste better and I know they are better. Fresh tomatoes are one of my favorite summer foods.
    hugs.

    Liked by 2 people

    Reply

  30. bernard25
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 12:06:24

    Bonjour mon Amie SUE
    Je viens tout en douceur
    Avec mon petit sourire
    Et ma bonne humeur
    Te souhaiter tout ce qu’il peux y avoir de meilleur dans ce monde
    Passe une belle journée
    Une très belle fin semaine surtout avec du soleil
    Je te fais un très grand signe d’amitié
    Pleins de bisous pour embellir cette amitié qui règne entre nous depuis xxx temps
    Bernard

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 20, 2016 @ 19:03:37

      merci de bien vouloir Bernard .. Il est tellement agréable de vous voir et je vous remercie pour ce beau cadeau de l’oiseau dans la fleur. Je vous souhaite une belle semaine
      Bénédictions Sue.

      Like

      Reply

  31. giselzitrone
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 14:51:05

    Schöner Beitrag liebe Grüße von mir und einen schönen Tag für dich eine Umarmung Gislinde

    Like

    Reply

  32. Sue Dreamwalker
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 19:45:00

    Reblogged this on Dreamwalker's Garden and commented:

    Things in the garden now are moving along as April comes to a close. Lots still to do in the Allotments.. Today I managed to prune the raspberries and tie up the loganberries and weed in-between them. My Husband planted the Gladioli bulbs we dried off last autumn .
    I am Sharing our allotments in this reblog that I posted on my Main blog this week..
    Have a great rest of the week
    Sue

    Like

    Reply

  33. The Coastal Crone
    Apr 20, 2016 @ 21:20:53

    You are as energetic and as busy as the bees! It is great to see what you and your husband have done. And what rewards! I can barely handle a few pots for herbs and tomatoes but am grateful for them. Very impressive garden you have!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 21, 2016 @ 10:35:26

      🙂 thank you haha.. yes this time of year is full on with preparing the soil, growing seeds and planting out.. The green house is full of plants that need hardening off.. I feel we have not seent he last of the frosts yet.. So will wait until May before we plant into the allotments.. We have been fooled before by the Promise of warmth only to have frost and snow kill young plants off.. 🙂 Hope you are well.. Sending lots of Love your way ❤ Sue x

      Like

      Reply

  34. dgkaye
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 01:24:00

    My goodness Sue, your garden is growing bigger and looking plentiful and it’s not even summer yet. I don’t know how you find the time to do so much. xoxo 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  35. Renee Espriu
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 01:33:36

    I did see this initially but have only now to reply. When my children were little I planted a garden each year but have not since. Even when I was in my own home I only did border gardens with flowers and shrubs. But it take a lot of energy to do so. I commend anyone who continues to plant gardens of their own fare. My youngest daughter still does each year. xoxo

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  36. marina kanavaki
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 12:10:14

    Ah, Sue, watching your garden grow is a joy. I can only imagine what joy it must be to you, making all that [very] hard work rewarding! Sending hugs and love 🙂 xxxxxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  37. insearchofitall
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 15:02:51

    What a big and beautiful garden that is. I’m afraid it would be too much for me to hand as well. It’s hard to see an acquaintance leave.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  38. Kourtney Heintz
    Apr 21, 2016 @ 18:12:56

    Wow, you are very busy with your garden. It’s lovely!

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  39. Lois
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 02:24:45

    I am always amazed at how large your allotment is and the amount of work you and your husband put into it. This year I didn’t start any seeds indoors. I experimented with a new technique and found it worked well to give seeds a jump start. I simply soak the seeds in water for a few minutes to an hour (depending on the type of seed/bean). Doing this they sprouted within 24 hours and grew really fast and hardy.

    Now that little bee, how wonderful you had fresh honey and were able to spot and care for him. There’s no way any of those little guys would ever bother to try and sting you. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Apr 22, 2016 @ 14:50:25

      Thank you Lois.. Yes that is a good method to give seeds a quick start.. We sometimes do that with Peas if we are late with sowing them..
      And yes that Bee was lovely.. and the honeycombe did the trick.. Lovely to see so many large Bumble bees about.. 🙂 xx

      Like

      Reply

      • Lois
        Apr 23, 2016 @ 19:43:28

        Last year I tried to rush the few things I planted in the yard as the beds were so late going in. Soaking helped my peas, corn, lima beans and a few others to catch up. This year I figured it worked so well why start all those seedlings indoors taking up space I’d just soak everything. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

        Reply

  40. pommepal
    Apr 22, 2016 @ 12:04:19

    What a lovely and productive garden you have Sue.

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

  41. The Emu
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 05:22:49

    Thoroughly enjoyed your post Sue, it really gave me a feeling of Gardeners excitement, seeing your allotment come to live again, the preparations and plants just busting to begin their growth cycle, if you look behind the words you have written Sue, you will see you have actually written a scenario for a beautiful play, incorporating the caretakers, the actors, supporting roles, and most importantly, the Stars, The Plants.
    That was some imagination Sue, think it might be the side effects of the pain killers I am currently on.
    Cheers.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      May 05, 2016 @ 19:11:11

      Yes the Plants are indeed the stars of the show Ian.. Sorry to hear Ian that you are on pain relief.. Hope you are feeling much better now?? Sending thoughts your way my friend and thank you for your lovely comments I appreciate them very much 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  42. europasicewolf
    Apr 25, 2016 @ 23:46:03

    Beautiful homegrown food ☺ummmmm! xx

    Like

    Reply

  43. dreamingthruthetwilight
    Apr 26, 2016 @ 18:25:32

    What a wonderful post. As someone who has always loved growing things , this makes me so happy. Presently, I live on the first floor of a rented house and I have no access to soil. There is but a narrow balcony. But I’ve still managed to keep a few pots on the stairs and a little bit of veggies in grow bags on the common terrace. Here, the vegetables being sold in the markets are high on pesticides and so I decided to grow at least some greens and tomatoes and beans for my grandson. They were doing well enough , but now the Summer heat is on and we’re having water problems. So have gone slow a bit. I’m waiting for the rains to resume.

    Meanwhile let me partake of your joy. Much love.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      May 05, 2016 @ 19:56:46

      Thank you dear Nadira.. Apologies for only just getting back to you.. I have been away on holiday.. I am so pleased you enjoyed this post.. there will be more to share shortly upon my gardening blog.. I have grown some wonderful veggies in grow bags and pots too.. I am sure your grandson will love fresh tomatoes and green beans.. I hope you have rain soon, but not all at once.. 🙂 Much love your way dear Nadira.. and will be catching you up soon once I get caught up myself 🙂 here 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  44. natswans
    Apr 27, 2016 @ 13:10:03

    Sue your alloment looks just great , well done to the both of you. Fresh foods from the garden just is the best. As you say the weather as been touch and go, very cold and sleety today in Cornwall. The bee brought a smile I just loved the way you set him nicely and he went on his way.
    Happy gardening great to see your post today.
    Much Love
    Sheila xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      May 05, 2016 @ 20:12:39

      Yes this little Bee had got cold and worn out I think.. the extra honey gave him a boost.. and I hope he went happy along his merry way.. Now we are home from our holiday.. and when the threat of frost has gone.. we can get planting out the plants which have sat in the green hous.. Lovely to have you in the allotments Sheila… The weather has turned for the better.. and we have a heat wave for the weekend coming.. So enjoy your own garden Sheila.. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

      Reply

  45. lavendermoongirlblog
    May 25, 2016 @ 17:49:44

    Lovely veg growing in your allotment Sue. I’m going to catch up with all your posts. I haven’t seen any of them on my reader or email and you’ve been to Scotland and back. I’ve also been growing a few flowers and veg…must get blogging about it all. Lol xxx

    Liked by 1 person

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

April 2016
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
252627282930  

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

