Safely Gathering In

Whats behind the Shed

“Don’t judge each day by the Harvest you Reap, but by the Seeds you Plant”

~Robert Louis Stevenson~

Above you can see what is behind our Garden shed, as the onions and shallots were hanging out to dry. The barrels collect the rainwater from the roof, nothing is wasted. A roof which needs more tarpaulin to see it through the winter, another job still waiting to be done, but that’s one for Hubby. 

Our days always fly by with speed as we are always finding something or other to keep us busy.. This week we brought the Onions back from the allotments to finish off drying and to clean up,

This was the job I elected to do with the shallots as they were fiddly, you allow them to dry off for a few weeks as you see them above and then you clean them up by peeling a few thin layers of skins back until you get to the cleaner layers ensuring there are no bad ones, keeping the long stalks in tact. These damaged ones are put to one side to be used up sooner or if too bad discarded to the compost heap.

Shallots outer skins removed, polished and now drying

Shallots outer skins removed, polished and now drying

I then us a clean duster and dry and shine them off and again these are left to air dry to allow the skins to harden and turn to that onion colour again.

Then after a few more days its time to hang them… I expect every gardener has their own ways of hanging onions, But this was how I saw both my Grandparents and Parents preserve their onions…

Onions that are cleaned off and drying before hanging for final storage

Onions that are cleaned off and drying before hanging for final storage

I got a long length of strong string and doubled it up into four with the loops at the bottom and tying a knot at the top, suspended from a hook.. You then work from the bottom to the top twisting the onions dried stalks in-between the string until it looks like this , Leaving the long ends for later.

Once you have done the whole string with your onions you then can trim back the dried stalks. Above you can see the ones I have hung on strings that will continue to dry off for storage 

Behind the shed  also is a huge rambling Blackberry Bush so we have been gathering in these wonderful Berries also and Freezing them after cleaning them. Also made some Apple and Blackberry crumble for desert on Sunday.

These Blackberries were picked from behind our Allotment Shed,

These Blackberries were picked from behind our Allotment Shed,

I have made more broccoli soup, and baking Fruit Scones too. Recipe can be found here as I followed a Mary Berry recipe, they are Light and delicious.

Fruit Scones with added cherries

Fruit Scones with added cherries

The Tomatoes in the Green house are still ripening and I hope they do soon or else there will be a lot of Green Tomato Chutney made 

Green House Tomatoes, still waiting for them to ripen

Green House Tomatoes, still waiting for them to ripen

I still have one other project still waiting to do and that is to paint a mandala, You can see Here on Heartsong Blog I chose one from Shree’s selection that she has created and generously offered to share which can be found Here  Shree, if your reading, its now half way done painting in watercolour paints. I set up my easel outside in the sun and low and behold a Butterfly landed on the corner of my painting as if giving me its blessing and stayed there for at least 3 minutes until I moved, as I am sure I held my breath as I examined the Peacock Butterfly in detail. Such a Delight  Smile .

Please click onto the pictures to enlarge and to see more details And I will leave you with some more Wonderful Butterflies which visited us over the past few days too.. Our Buddleia Bush is still in flower and seems to be attracting many as they stop off for a drink… And here are some of our flowers in bloom I thought I would share.. I hope you enjoyed what I have been up to.

 Love and Light ~Sue 

 

45 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Visionkeeper
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:25:17

    Boy have you been busy!!! Great stuff DW!!! So proud of you and your great efforts. Everything looks amazing and hopefully you will have a yummy winter ahead. I hope all is well there. Looks like it is. Bravo! Have a great weekend my friend and don’t work without playing as well 🙂 vK

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:50:37

      Thank you VK, yes we have been busy, and something in my bones is saying we may well have another harsh winter, as the trees are giving nature their signs as they are loaded with berries, I only hope your poor Summer is yielding some good crops for yourself..
      Love to you my friend
      DW xxx

      Like

      Reply

  2. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 16:31:24

    each time I wander through your thoughts I feel the pull of home…
    where one sits in the gardens discussing whatever the winds whisper…
    Your thoughts today day bring such a smile..I was out looking at a blur tarp too LOLs..
    Thank you Sue…for being the whisper that calms my soul as I wander in storms of life…
    Take Care…You Matter…
    )0(
    always….maryrose

    Like

    Reply

  3. marina kanavaki
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 17:00:33

    I can imagine your expression and happiness when you saw that butterfly on your painting! I’d hold my breath too! What beautiful things you do, Sue!!!
    Have a wonderful day, my dear!!
    🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:37:19

      Thank you so much Marina, Yes I had my phone in my pocket with camera, but dare not move to get it 🙂 as I knew it would fly away, But so enjoyed looking at it in great detail, and thanked the Universe for its gift… Thank you I have had several beautiful days Much love to you Marina, also
      Sue xox

      Like

      Reply

  4. David Tenneson
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 18:00:17

    Great harvest Sue. Love, David

    Like

    Reply

  5. ruchira
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 18:07:56

    I had no idea that so much work is involved in getting those onions to the market for a common man like me.

    Those scones look delish. Gotta try out the recipe.

    Looking fwd to the tomato chutney 🙂

    xoxo

    Like

    Reply

  6. natswans
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 18:29:41

    Oh my you have been busy Sue , your onions look really splendid hanging up there. I guess you take a seat outside and tie them as you say …those scones are worth a try , thank you.
    I just love standing by my Buddleia Bush and watching the butterfly’s . Ding very well this year I must confess. Great shots and plenty of color.
    Hope your Tomatoes do ok to Sue.
    Hugs Sheila x

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:29:27

      Some of the tomatoes are starting to turn Sheila, and we took a vine off and placed upon the kitchen widow sill they have ripened and were delicious to eat, Yes I took a chair to tie them, and they are now in the green house while its been sunny to ripen off the outer skins. I must look up a recipe for green tomato chutney though LOL just in case .. 🙂 xxxx

      Like

      Reply

  7. Paul Handover
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 18:49:07

    Lovely reminder about the important things in our lives.

    Like

    Reply

  8. livingsimplyfree
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 19:53:54

    I don’t know where you find all the energy, Sue. We had no where near as many onions this year, but as always there is next year. I love your Mandala. How large is it, it looks very big? I spent all afternoon and evening, into the wee hours processing free apples my neighbor was given and kindly offered to share with me. We shall survive through shared kindness won’t we?

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:24:26

      Energy comes in spurts these days Lois, with lots of little rests in-between LOL, that’s how I juggle work and gardening, WP time and chores lol, Somedays the rest calls to me more, that is why I took some time out to paint the Mandala, as its very restful and I don’t have to THINK about the World just concentrate on the painting.. Its only A4 size, I tore off a piece of Ivory paint board from my art pad which is good for water colour washes and ink and it fitted into my printer so I could print off Shree’s design. it

        just

      fitted on. .. Good to know you shared some apples, We should be able to do more community sharing, we swap things on the allotments all the time with other allotment holders. Even when planting, we had more leeks than we needed and sweetcorn and let the neighbouring garden holders have the plants, in exchange I had some of his rhubarb as mine I only planted this year. But I have since had 3 lots of my own enough for deserts 🙂 And so YES we will survive through Kindness. 🙂
      Hugs Sue xox

      Like

      Reply

      • livingsimplyfree
        Sep 02, 2013 @ 21:29:39

        I’m glad you know to stop and rest when you need to. I am trying to start up a more organized sharing plan within my community, maybe that will save some of the things tossed out for trash.

        Have you thought about taking your mandela and having it blown up to a size you want? Our printing offices do it here pretty inexpensively.

        Like

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Sep 03, 2013 @ 21:21:17

          Hi Lois, I had a lovely day today with my own little-one, And no I hadn’t thought of that about the mandala, a good idea 🙂 Thank you, You have been busy I see also, its late here this evening so I will be around to read in full later to catch up with your own energetic weekend xxx Sue 🙂

          Like

          Reply

  9. europasicewolf
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 20:49:55

    Awesome! You are so lucky! 🙂 x

    Like

    Reply

  10. prenin
    Aug 29, 2013 @ 23:23:53

    You are an inspiration to us all hun! 🙂

    My joints are too bad now to do any gardening, but as I live in a first floor flat I don’t have a garden! 🙂

    Love and squishy hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:13:25

      Such a shame you have no garden Prenin I know, but there is always the window sills for those herbs or if you have a sunny spot why not try next year some cherry tomatoes, we grew a few in a hanging basket.. All eaten now though lol as they ripened really well in the Hot Sun of this year…. Hope you’ve have a good weekend my friend and you got your PS3 sorted out xox

      Like

      Reply

      • prenin
        Sep 02, 2013 @ 02:25:51

        Hi Sue! 🙂

        I tried growing stuff on my window ledge, but it didn’t survive for some reason! 😦

        The PS3 was fatally damaged when they tried to fix it, so I’ve ordered a new one and a new copy of ‘Motor Storm – Pacific Rift’.

        Fortunately it is a thing and things can be replaced… 🙂

        Love and squishy hugs!

        Prenin.

        Like

        Reply

  11. giselzitrone
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 08:54:34

    Wünsche dir einen schönen Tag liebe Sue so eine reiche Ernte Mutter Erde hat es gut gemeint.Du bist so vielseitig und machst so viel ich frage mich wie du das alles schaft Garten ist doch viel Arbeit ich kenne das ja.Ja hier bei uns gibt es viel Obst und Äpfel und Birnen dieses Jahr ist gut.Ich wünsche dir ein schönes sonniges Wochenende.Gruß und Freundchat Gislinde

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:10:44

      Ja Gislinde, die Obstgärten reich mit Früchten sind in diesem Jahr auch hier, ich hoffe, Sie genießen Ihr Wochenende werde ich sehr bald besuchen werden, die Liebe zu dir mein Freund
      Sue xx

      Like

      Reply

  12. cheryoncake
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 12:39:55

    Oh Sue, you are almost the personification of Mother Nature, you are so at one with the earth. I loved reading this. I’m proud to say I too will be making an apple and blackberry crumble today, with the berries that have appeared at the back of the garden.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:08:38

      I hope you enjoyed your Apple and Blackberry crumble Cherry, so simple to make and so delicious to eat, Many thanks for your compliments, Hubby takes more of the credit in our allotments though, but he loves the results of my baking! 🙂 xxx

      Like

      Reply

  13. Eddie Two Hawks
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 15:34:21

    Somewhere you said the day is flying by; what happened to the month!! Soon it will be September! Oh my! back to your delicious looking vegetables and blackberries too. wow! just looking at all that goodness makes me hungry. Miss those blackberries! You have been working hard in your gardens this year and it shows. But look at all that food!
    enjoy your day and salads too! Eddie

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:06:11

      Well Eddie, that day has arrived, September today, and the scones now but a delicious memory, the berries went to my elderly Aunt, and as I type the dinner is cooking for this evenings meal of home-grown potatoes, Broccoli, Runner Beans, and carrots. with maybe a few berries and ice-cream. ( the Ice-cream is shop bought though lol ) Blessings x

      Like

      Reply

  14. natswans
    Aug 30, 2013 @ 16:28:58

    Hi Sue meant what a lovely art work also , you are so talented. x

    Like

    Reply

  15. jacksjottings
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 08:46:05

    The time flies when gardening because it is such an enjoyable occupation.
    I am having that great gardening experience, house-sitting this property in Malanda.
    Your beautiful mandala reminds me of the glass ornament hanging over the garden gate here. You can see it in one of my posts. May the force be with you Dreamwalker.

    Like

    Reply

  16. Valentine Logar
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 16:09:47

    The butterflies…wow.

    You are so impressive with your productivity and your gardening and your cooking and baking and dang woman I am coming to visit. I want to visit for no other reason than to absorb from you this peaceful energy.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 01, 2013 @ 17:47:40

      Val, would that you lived this side of the Pond, and then what conversations we would then have over your cups of coffee and my Nettle Tea! 🙂 I hope though you have sensed some Peace via our shared vibration over the Space Waves 🙂 xxxxx Hugs to you Sue xxx

      Like

      Reply

  17. Gray Dawster
    Sep 01, 2013 @ 18:25:18

    Wow your cherry scones look awesome Sue, I could just eat one of those with some vanilla ice cream, now I bet that you have never tried that idea before 🙂 It is lovely so if you like to experiment as I do, you will be amazed at the deliciousness, I kid you not 😉 lol

    Okay now what else can I sample in your kitchen,
    you are such a versatile lady and so wicked too 🙂
    Wicked as in lovely 🙂

    Have a wonderful rest
    of weekend my sweet friend 🙂

    Andro xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  18. shreejacob
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 15:54:31

    You’ve been busy as a bee! 🙂
    I love your take on the mandala and can’t wait to see the finished piece 😀
    Thank you so much for trying it out too 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  19. Sabina Brave
    Sep 06, 2013 @ 17:21:14

    You have beautiful Begonias, Sue. 🙂
    xox

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 12:48:18

      Sabina, thank you 🙂 yes they have been beautiful but sadly Autumn is now here and they are all dying back…. But they will be saved to over winter until next Spring! as these plants were kept from previous years xxxx

      Like

      Reply

  20. Ruth Nina Welsh
    Sep 09, 2013 @ 00:34:52

    Just lovely to see these photos Sue and catch up with your ‘larder’ – such beauty and tasty too. It is wonderful to be able to enjoy the fruits of your labour and know that this is all helping the planet at the same time Sending much love your way and hopes that you are doing well. Ruth xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Sep 09, 2013 @ 12:13:35

      Hi Ruth, Yes its been pretty busy of late, but I’m not complaining, 🙂 I’m fine, but how are YOU? I need to catch up too I think with you as I haven’t called around in a while either. Sending you a Hug 🙂 ~Sue

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

August 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

