I give you a ROSE of LIFE.

Photobucket

Over the past few weeks I have beat myself up. Told myself off, and tried to justify why I have felt tired, depressed and low on self esteem. I am a person who gives 100% most of the time. And I expect others to also give 100% of themselves. But I forgot one basic thing..

That if we were all be the same it would serve us to learn nothing. For we have to have opposites in all things.. With the Good we must also experience the Bad.

Depending on what stage we are in our lives, we can sometimes feel like we ought to know more about who we are or how to live. We may even beat ourselves up for making the same mistakes, or for just not understanding why we go through the various mistakes we keep making. We wonder how our lives would be now, if only we had “known better.” During moments like these, it is important to remember that none of us are born with instruction manuals and that learning lessons is a lifelong journey. And that each of us only progress by learning through our mistakes!

And until we learn, the lessons keep on repeating.

Our being born is that we are here to observe, learn, and grow. Accompanying this is understanding that there will be mistakes and misadventures along the way. We must also realise that there are those who come to bring to us those irritations in life in order for us to learn and grow. So too our enemies in a way should be thanked, for they come to allow us to grow and progress. And so therefore are there any mistakes in life? 

While it is only natural that we may sometimes become overwhelmed, especially when the lessons keep coming, it is important to remember that learning to understand yourself and your world.

Every lesson is intended so you can become more aware of who you are. And as you grow through this self-discovery, you begin to create your own instruction manual. The "how’s" and "why’s" are yours to discover, and part of the beauty of being alive is that these rules are always changing as is the world.

Sometimes Discovery of Oneself comes with harsh lessons. And we become harsh task masters upon ourselves as we beat ourselves up for our mistakes.. But are they mistakes?……

Or are they the thorns that lead us up the beautiful stem of life to that perfectly formed Rose.

Valentines Day is the day many give their loved ones Roses. Next time you look at that Rose, take note of the Thorns. For the thorns of Life are there for a purpose, they allow us a choice to chose the smooth or rugged road..The Choice is always ours to make.. 

They show us that the purpose of learning compassion means someone has to suffer. It means that to learn to care, someone has to be in need of caring. It tells us that if we chose the path of the light.. there has to be also that Dark path.

So I give you a ROSE……. with all its thorns and lessons…….

Happy Valentines to all my friends

Sue Dreamwalker

A repost of mine from 2010 Tweaked with …..And still I am learning the lessons!… enabling Change!

53 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. zendictive
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 14:39:38

    wow, you are a rose, that inspires us with your beautiful words (~_~) bows humble

    Like

    Reply

  2. cat
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 14:48:13

    Thank you for this read, my lovely sis … sending you many good thoughts … and a yellow rose … (I love yellow roses, haven’t found a hardy enough one to survive our AB climate). Always, cat.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Feb 13, 2013 @ 16:07:05

      Arrgh my Dad had a wonderful Yellow Climbing rose Tree and I never did find its name, but the perfume was adorable… Thank you as always for your visit… will catch up with you shortly 🙂 xx

      Like

      Reply

  3. Alex Jones
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 14:57:23

    Often it is the mistakes and the thorns of life that provide for the best lessons.

    Love starts with the self, love the self and invest in self, then the bounty of love is abundant to share with others.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Visionkeeper
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 15:17:44

    The only way I can get through trying times DW and all times actually, is to always look for the good buried beneath the bad. It’s there and when we find it is says to us ” See, this is why you went through what you went through now buck up and run with it “, and often times we end up better off than we were before. I also turn every bad streak into a challenge for myself to get through and come out better from it. I love challenging myself because my not wanting to let myself down drives me forward. You are a special and wonderful soul and so concentrate on what is good within you, dwell in that space and forget the rest of the garbage ego is hounding you about 🙂 …..Sending love…VK

    Like

    Reply

  5. beverley
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 15:36:59

    Thank you for the rose Sue what a lovely gesture x

    Like

    Reply

  6. Cat Forsley
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 16:31:48

    love love love 🙂 xxxxxhttp://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUZYf4aNDgM LOVE LOVE – LOVE DAY – EVERY SINGLE DAY 🙂 XOXOXOOXXOOXOXOXOXOXOXOOXOXOXOXO

    Like

    Reply

  7. Cat Forsley
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 16:32:39

    OH it didn’t show “KISS OF LIFE ” SADE 🙂 XO http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yUZYf4aNDgM

    Like

    Reply

  8. poet365
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 17:20:08

    This is a powerful piece of writing that offers a sense of knowing and also a bridge that needs to be crossed, once across the bridge is it the left or the right fork in the road that one needs to tread or should chance play a greater role in this way of thinking?

    The darkness and the light blend leaving one unsure of the correct path to follow but life is a vast learning curve with many trials and tribulations to consider, there are also many happier moments to enjoy and positive thoughts can add optimism to enhance the road ahead.

    Life is multifaceted with many different journeys to travel and the wisdom that is gained through knowledge will guide one through the labyrinth, and where opportunities and chance plays a big part in life perception and good judgement will be there to be fashioned.

    The rights and wrongs will also play a hand in one’s journey but then conscience is an enlightening human characteristic, so it will be one’s own choice that moulds the course there onwards.

    A fantastic post Sue 🙂 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  9. Debra Payne
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 17:25:12

    Great post Sue!
    I use my own version of Ho’onpono these days
    I LOVE You
    I FORGIVE You
    I THANK You for the lesson you gave me

    I have been tested on this a lot lately. 🙂
    Much LOVE to ALL here and
    HAPPY VALENTINES to ALL of you wonderful souls!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Feb 13, 2013 @ 19:51:06

      Many thanks Debra for your visit, Beautiful sentiments. I wish I could repay the visit, but I am not a member of FB and will not be joining… Thank you for your well wishes and Happy Valentines Day to You!

      Like

      Reply

  10. davidtenn
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 19:14:25

    Hello lovely lady, beautiful as always. Thank you Sue. Thorns I meet are my opportunities to either prove I can avoid, overcome or learn from. Blessings David

    Like

    Reply

  11. livingsimplyfree
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 19:15:56

    Sue, you and I think so much alike. I too believe we are here to learn, grow and experience all we can while we are here. There are no real mistakes in my way of thinking, only learning experiences.

    Like

    Reply

  12. Tom (Aquatom1968)
    Feb 13, 2013 @ 20:34:59

    Thanks for this, Sue. I like to think that I’m learning, but every now and then I make the same mistake again and again. One day, I suppose my lesson will be completed in those areas…

    Like

    Reply

  13. Summer
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 00:00:46

    Hallo,dear Sue!
    This is for you, for being kind to others and me : )
    Pick it up here if you want to http://summer4soul.wordpress.com/2013/02/14/valentines-day-this-is-for-you-because-you-are-love/

    Sweet greetings, Summer

    Like

    Reply

  14. sharechair
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 00:12:43

    Choices, choices. All about choices. Thanks for the reminder. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  15. Renee Espriu
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 03:26:41

    I accept your rose and would offer one in return. A favorite flower that tells us so much. We are human and like the delicate rose connected to life that is full of thorns sometimes…difficulties, unhappy moments and questions…always those questions. I am a question asker and use to ponder on why I asked so many and got so little on my return. But, again, we are human and if we did not ask the questions and ponder over the choices how awfully dull life would be. I wish you well, my friend, and good days are right around the corner. Blessings

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 15:15:14

      Renee, thank you, Yes your words are so true Renee, We wouldn’t be here if we did not need the experience and we would definitely not be here if we were perfect ! .. Wishing you well… and I am fine…. 🙂 Many thanks my friend

      Like

      Reply

  16. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 06:13:30

    What a beautiful post…
    I felt the pull of your words as I wandered through it today…
    I came back several time and now I am not sure if I have words to
    convey my thoughts…no I don’t but I think you probably will know them’ anyways…
    Once again Sue..Thank you for being you and always know inh what I need to hear
    Take Care as You Matter muh within this journey we are on
    )0(
    just me

    Like

    Reply

  17. jussaraluna
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 06:30:31

    Hello my dear Dreamwalker,
    thank you very much for your nice words.
    Your post is lovely!
    I wish you a Happy Valentine’s Day!
    Much peace and love in your life.
    hugs from my heart ~~ Jussara

    Like

    Reply

  18. prenin
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 06:48:40

    Ouch! 🙂

    I prefer to avoid the thorns, but sometimes we have to grasp the rose, thorns and beauty alike.

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

    Like

    Reply

  19. europasicewolf
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 11:07:08

    I think you must have written that great post for Wolfie! Or we have been in a very similar place of late… But I totally agree with whY you said here and the rose is beautiful even with its painful thorns 🙂 I hope your today is as beautiful and sunny and the world alight with blue skies as mine is outside 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  20. wightrabbit
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 12:33:40

    Your words are soothing and comforting, as I begin to emerge from yet another dark passage. The picture that emerged this time is that we all play a part in this drama we call ‘life’ ~ sometimes ‘good’, other times apparently not so, it’s only a matter of perspective. We are all connected and our actions ripple out, affecting the whole and bringing learning for those able to see through the thorns to the beauty of the rose. Thank you for re blogging this archived piece, SD, I missed it the first time round and may not have understood it in the way I do now. 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Feb 14, 2013 @ 16:10:06

      Awww WR, Im sorry that your dark patch seems to be ongoing at the moment .. Our actions surely do ripple outwards and often we do not see just how far they travel… But I am thankful that your visit allowed you to understand how life actions affect each and everyone… So Im thankful that I re-posted… Many Thanks.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  21. Deb
    Feb 14, 2013 @ 16:44:07

    You are just amazing, Sue!…Happy Valentine’s Day! xoxo ♥

    Like

    Reply

  22. natswans
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 10:58:16

    Hope you enjoyed your Valentines Day , lovely post Sue. Sheila xx

    Like

    Reply

  23. Eddie Two Hawks
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 21:12:08

    Lessons are always for benefit and never ment as punishment. Some times they may feel to be such but as we learn we grow and as we grow even the thorns of life will not bother us. An excellent post Dreamwalker worth repeating as often as necessary.
    many blessing, Eddie

    Like

    Reply

  24. Ruth Nina Welsh
    Feb 15, 2013 @ 21:39:43

    All emotions do have a purpose and are there for a reason, as you say Sue. Rather than beat ourselves up it is important for us to listen and understand what is going on in our own minds and hearts. Wishing you the beauty of the rose for a while, rather than the thorns. I do love roses 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  25. becca givens
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 01:38:37

    I hope you had a wonderful Valentine’s Day — ours was very quiet!! 😀

    Like

    Reply

  26. Samanthamj
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 04:19:04

    And what a lovely rose you have given. Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  27. Aneesh
    Feb 16, 2013 @ 06:23:50

    So true :)…

    Why depressed and low of self esteem??

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Feb 17, 2013 @ 21:01:57

      This was a period of time a few yrs ago .. When my job was about to end due to local government cutbacks in the caring profession .. I felt that peoples care was being put to one side for profit…. and was hurting inside for those whom I had supported for a period of 7 yrs… whose lives were about to be altered,.

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

February 2013
M T W T F S S
« Jan   Mar »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

