Hardwick Hall~ An Afternoons Walk

Ordinary riches can be stolen, real riches cannot. In your soul are infinitely precious things that cannot be taken from you.

~Oscar Wilde ~

I thought for a change you could share a walk I took Thursday afternoon. It has been some years since we visited this place and to say its only a 20 minute drive away we were surprised at the changes and improvements made, as the National Trust has injected much into its upkeep for public viewing with the help of lottery funding. I will share a little of our English Heritage with you this morning. So I hope you all enjoy your walk with me into our Historic Places around Great Britain, 

DSC00792

Hardwick Hall  was created by the formidable Bess of Hardwick

File:Elizabeth Talbot, Countess of Shrewsbury from NPG.jpg

in the late 1500’s, She was said to be the richest woman in England after Queen Elizabeth I. Bess was married four times and she was also a gifted needlewoman who worked on some of the famous tapestries which hang and are preserved today.

Hardwick Hall is still a working Farm and around the grounds are some wonderful walks which take you down to the lower parklands where a series of small ponds in tiers are full of fish and wonderful water lilies.

DSC00786

  I took pictures of the view and of a wonderful Field in the distance which I managed to magnify with my camera full of poppies.

DSC00782

I always find that a walk clears the head, and when you get such  wonderful weather as this week has been after the terrible Summer of rain here in the UK, you have to make the most of your garden and free time to enjoy the countryside and fresh air.

The Hall itself is surrounded by a terrace row of Cottages, which house tenants and labourers  of Hardwick Hall.

DSC00791

It brought home once again the vast differences in the Rich and Wealthy of those bygone days as the Hall is lavishly styled with a great Hall and furnishings Many more images can be found here, as now the Hall is also used for Wedding Venues.

Below are more photos of my afternoon walk. I hope you enjoyed a little History Lesson too..

But out of all of these wonderful trappings of Human Riches, we still come with nothing and leave with only that which we have in our hearts..

While Bess left a legacy of Bricks and Mortar and furnishings. It still all past to the state, as it remained in her family until the 1956 when it was handed over to Her Majesty’s Treasury in Lieu of Estate Duty.. As the Wealthy Have a Huge  amount of Death Tax Duty to pay. Hardwick Hall was handed over to the Treasury to pay off this  Tax debt. And it was then handed over to the National Trust in 1959.

Many Dukes and Duchesses have nearly lost their stately homes to pay these extraordinary High Death Taxes, Chatsworth House another grand Stately home, a place close to my heart as I used to live only a few miles from it when growing up and spent much time walking in its grounds. This wonderful Stately Home  nearly fell foul to  death duty taxes also, but due to opening its doors to the public it has become a success story in its own right Thanks to the previous Duke and Duchesses who turned it around so they didn’t loose everything.

As a foot note here Hardwick Hall was used in the Filming of Harry Potter and the Deathly Hallows Pt1 and Pt2, in the Scenes of Malfoy Manor. And Chatsworth house is the setting for that wonderful

 Film The Duchess with Keira Knightley fame as Georgina  Cavendish the Duchess of Devonshire.

Here are more of my photo’s Forgive the repetition of some, but somehow the thumbnails got added to the slide show.. Wishing you all a Sunny Relaxing Weekend. And to end with, here is another Great Quote from Red Cloud.

 

” I am poor and naked, but I am the chief of the nation. We do not want riches but we do want to train our children right. Riches would do us no good. We could not take them with us to the other world. We do not want riches. We want peace and love.”
— Red Cloud

 

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

63 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ruth Nina Welsh
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:04:36

    Absolutely beautiful and uplifting Sue. I did enjoy this walk through your eyes. Some lovely photos and history too. We have such wonderful treasures in the UK with our historic houses – so pleased the weather has perked up and you have had such a lovely visit. Thanks so much for bringing this world to me today! Ruth x

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:20:27

      Hi Ruth, thank you for sticking with me, and walking along in my afternoon walk… And the Weather has been a bonus this week, that and the great Olympics and GB great competitors has put the icing on the cake for me. A wonderful uplifting couple of weeks.. 🙂 Sue

      Like

      Reply

  2. Sam373
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:35:50

    Thanks for letting me walk with you to glimps your heritage. U R a great guide.

    Like

    Reply

  3. davidtenn
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:37:48

    This is lovely Sue. Can’t wait to get back to Blighty to share these vistas first hand. All Love David

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:43:02

      Hi David, they will still be here waiting… I have travelled around many places in Europe and I have to say the countryside in the Derbyshire Dales take some beating, while Hardwick Hall isnt quite in the Derbyshire Dales, the Green of England certainly stand out here, and always makes me feel as if Im Home.. even though I have now lived longer away from Derbyshire. My heart lies within its Valleys.
      Many thanks for dropping in to visit David. Sue

      Like

      Reply

  4. rosemarymonteith
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:46:26

    Thanks you for sharing Sue, such a lovely place, enjoyed the Blog.

    Like

    Reply

  5. raymond alexander kukkee
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 13:47:03

    Wow…Sue, great pics! Beautiful… Thanks for sharing insight into your part of the world! It always amazes me how these people collected that much wealth, only to lose it again. ~R

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:45:51

      Wealth is only on loan… we OWN absolutely NOTHING… and the TAX Man will always try to get every last drop of what ever is left.. 😉
      Thanks Raymond for your visit.. Glad to show you part of my world.. 🙂 Sue

      Like

      Reply

  6. prenin
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 17:55:37

    Beautiful! 🙂

    Wish I was fit enough to walk around it!!! 🙂

    Love and hugs always!

    Prenin.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:48:32

      Prenin, thank you, I think just to drive there and sit and look upon the views would be a great boost to anyones spirit Prenin.. Many disabled people visit and enjoy the gardens and surrounding grounds for Picnics etc. Wishing you a Restful Sunday and Many thanks again for your supportive comments Prenin.. ~Sue

      Like

      Reply

  7. Christy Birmingham
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 20:55:20

    Oh I loved taking this walk with you Sue! You have beautiful sights around you. This is a change from your normal posts yet still carries your wonderful spirit in each word xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 11, 2012 @ 21:02:43

      Hi Christy, I am so happy to have been able to share some of the beauty we have around here with you along with a little History Lesson!
      Thank you, your words mean a lot to me, I thank you that you see the Spirit of intent also.. 🙂 xxx Enjoy your Weekend I am..

      Like

      Reply

  8. Cat Forsley
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 23:04:54

    Sue !!!!!!!!!!!! Sue !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!I loved the history lesson 🙂 xx
    I love you and your rays of sun:) Thank You xo
    Makes me wanna (teleport) DREAM ON CAT 🙂 lol 6 hours ahead and give you a smooch 🙂 I loved the song you sent me 🙂 Subscribed to them …… band i will have to investigate further 🙂 xoxoxoxo
    You better write me soon 🙂 is there awesome stuff going on with You or what ?
    ENERGY OFF THE PAGE ::) Like FULL ON HAPPINESS ENERGY 🙂 and calm energy !!!!!!!!!!!!!
    if you are ever on twitter – i would love to share stuff with you and virtual tea parties 🙂 xx
    This is a beautiful song that reminds me of your sweetness xo
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=ackWHfZQY4U from a film i am obsessed with ……….. i dunno why xx
    romantic sappy cat xoxoxoxoxoxo
    The composer’s song – makes me feel your history lesson 🙂 xo
    I love you
    it’s obvious xoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxxoxooxoxxooxoxxo
    Cat

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:47:58

      Cat 🙂 Thank you for that lovely music.. And Happy you enjoyed the History Lesson.. 🙂 Awesome Yes.. I just Woke up to myself.. again 🙂 🙂 🙂 xx Love you Cat too my special friend.. Sue

      Like

      Reply

      • Cat Forsley
        Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:53:02

        🙂 I love you Sue Sue xo
        special friends YES 🙂
        I could use about 12 fedex deliveries of sun …lol
        i just got drenched outside …lol
        RAINING CATS AND MORE CATS …….
        Red Wellies on and rock on xoxoxoxo
        love you xo

        Like

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:23:43

          Well you shouldnt have sent that nice van driver here Cat, for since you did seems like we had more or less good weather… But I will send you some sunshine that lights up my life via Email.. 🙂 Sue xx

          Like

          Reply

          • Cat Forsley
            Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:55:06

            HA !!!!!!!!!!!!!! You know what
            the sky just went BLUE 🙂
            !!!!!!!!!!!!!
            what did u do 🙂 lol xoxoxoxoxoxoxo

            Like

            Reply

            • Sue Dreamwalker
              Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:53:02

              🙂 What I want to know Cat is where is the Sky not blue when ever you visit, for you sure light up my day with your own rays of Sun.. 🙂

              Like

            • Cat Forsley
              Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:09:52

              AWWWWWWWW babe xo
              BLUE MISTY skies today
              fresh morning breeze and well ………:)
              I love u xo and thx for the sweet email xo
              I just finished one last little thing
              music wise for a sweet friend – CHA !
              i had promised her 🙂 and i never break a promise xo
              It’s a gorgeous morning here …….
              sipping a coffee and JUST HAPPY 🙂 and “Enjoying my life ” whom said that 🙂 =YOU XO

              then early Fall and it’s coming quick
              into the studio i go 🙂 wooohoooooooooo

              AND YES
              JOY IS INFECTIOUS 🙂
              thanks for the JOY in the inbox yesterday xo
              me love u xo
              C

              Like

            • Sue Dreamwalker
              Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:17:36

              You are very infectious Cat.. and we swapped weather, we have grey skies and rain,, But its not affected the Sun in my heart.. so Keep creating.. and so happy for Cha.. she too is a sweet lady.. arrh the talent you both have along with that zest for life.. makes my heart Sing.
              Sending you some Cosmic Morning Hugs.. Sue xx

              Like

            • Cat Forsley
              Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:25:02

              COSMIC 🙂 !!!!!!!!!! WOOHOOOOO XO
              and then i am gonna do that mention thing on soundcloud – not today ….ONE NANOSECOND AT A TIME 🙂 but i wanna mention some really cool people on wp – awards nomimations – all that 🙂
              that will be for the end of summer ………
              so yeah – Miss Sue Sue the “Enjoy Your Life ” Lady will be in there …:) xo of course xx
              that will be a fun spoken one to do 🙂 xoxoxoxoxo
              GLAXIES OF LOVE TO YOU XO

              Like

  9. Deb
    Aug 11, 2012 @ 23:31:39

    This was a wonderful history lesson, Sue…thank you for sharing it with us. The imagery shots are all so wonderful too…clear as a bell.
    Thank you for sharing your day with us! Now you have yourself a lovely evening! 🙂 Love and hugs xoxo

    Like

    Reply

  10. Sabina Brave
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 10:29:55

    Wonderful places. I have to visit something similar too. To get a portion of fresh air and abit of peace.
    Have a wonderful Sunday Sue 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:51:35

      There is nothing like walking out is there Sabina, and finding Peace… I had a wonderful Sunday and gave myself a Pc break and feel fresher for it. I hope you are well too my friend Sue

      Like

      Reply

  11. europasicewolf
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 12:25:03

    Lovely walk thank you 🙂 Just what was needed after a frantic day in London yesterday 🙂 Great photos too and new things learned as well!

    Like

    Reply

  12. giselzitrone
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 13:55:08

    Wünsche dir einen schönen Sonntagnachmittag liebe Sue alles was wir in der Seele haben kann uns keiner nehmen und unsere Gedanken auch nicht.Grüsse dich lieb von mir Gislinde.

    Like

    Reply

  13. Duma Key
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 14:11:40

    I was thinking of heading over there last week, but decided on Sudbury hall and a trip back via Matlock Bath and chatsworth.
    Think I may venture over that way during the coming week, after reading your post.
    I am quite enjoying some of these old places at the min, kind of feels almost like you can close your eyes and step back in time.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:55:05

      🙂 Hi Duma, so happy you dropped by.. and Yes Matlock Bath is great especially if you ride a Bike.. 🙂 and Chatsworth a great walk even around the grounds Hope you enjoyed your detour. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  14. MysteryCoach
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 14:27:47

    That was fun! Can we do it again! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:58:21

      MC, you can come walk with me anytime.. just bring along some of that new found Humour and I will be happy 🙂

      Like

      Reply

      • MysteryCoach
        Aug 14, 2012 @ 22:13:27

        LOL 🙂 Thank you ! Well… now, I’ve always been pretty funny … it was hard to tell though with all that venting going on though. I hear ya!

        How about if I bring “funee as hell” with me! hahaha!

        Like

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:57:51

          Now that would be just fine.. and so good as I hear you laughing through your own comment back.. much better than that venting lady who has I think moved into greener pastures as she smiles as wide as her logo picture.. 🙂
          Wishing you a great day and will be around real soon to catch up on your blog.
          Sue xx

          Like

          Reply

          • MysteryCoach
            Aug 15, 2012 @ 11:22:50

            Take your time, I know we get busy… I have lots of free time on my hands right now. 🙂 Let’s all bow our heads and hope I’ve reached greener pastures shall we? hahaha!

            Like

            Reply

  15. Visionkeeper
    Aug 12, 2012 @ 15:14:58

    Thanks for the tour DW!! The countryside is just beautiful….Enjoy it and keep sharing it! VK

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:01:11

      Vk so happy you enjoyed some of the English countryside.. Its one of my hobbies walking the Hills.. especially now I am able.. but dont tell anyone it did take it out of me walking back UP that hill from the Ponds… But one step at a time one foot in front of the other and I made it.. Just like we have to keep going as we walk upon our Spiritual journey in this Land of make believe. 🙂 😉 Hugs my friend Sue xxx

      Like

      Reply

      • Visionkeeper
        Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:50:11

        My dad was born in Surry…I have spent hours online looking at the landscape there and it really is just gorgeous! I started to apply for dual citizenship but saw how controlled it was becoming over there and decided against it. When we finally shift perhaps I will reconsider and we can have tea one afternoon 🙂 VK

        Like

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Aug 15, 2012 @ 12:57:15

          VK nothing would give me greater pleasure in sharing our thoughts over afternoon tea! 🙂 In the mean time the next best thing is to keep our thoughts connected via the web of life.. And TODAY is WEDNESDAY.. so I sent my usual morning greetings your way and to the band of merry followers 🙂 Hugs DW xx

          Like

          Reply

  16. giselzitrone
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:08:07

    Liebe Sue wünsche dir eine schöne glückliche Woche Grüsse lieb Gislinde

    Like

    Reply

  17. Valentine Logar
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 11:29:28

    Beautiful!! I have been to Hardwick Hall, loved it though I think Warwick will still remain one of my favorites. I am a bit of a Castle nut. Castles, Libraries and Churches; love them all.

    Thank you for the tour.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:07:44

      WOW Val a small world.. Yes there are some fantastic places.. And so glad you enjoyed your visit in person to Hardwick.. I hope my post brought back some fond memories for you .. 🙂 Sue

      Like

      Reply

  18. granbee
    Aug 13, 2012 @ 23:16:45

    Thank you so very much for this wonderful post of sharing Harkwick Hall and most of all, for reminding us that the true riches are peace and love held in our hearts.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:13:47

      Yes Granbee, we take none of them with us which we have spent so long in acquiring. Thinking we need them to prosper and get all we need is the love in our hearts. These are indeed the only riches we need.. Many thanks for adding your most welcome comments.. Sue 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  19. Bodhirose
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 04:27:01

    Well, as we just finished up the Olympics, courtesy of your country…a nice walk in your countryside is perfect. What a magnificent place Hardwick Hall is. I can see how this walk could very much clear your head and bring a sense of peace. I would have loved to have seen that field of poppies up close! I have a photo of a field of colorful caladiums which from a distance looks exactly like your field of poppies… Thanks for the lovely walk and sharing your photos, Sue. Hope you are well… xoxo

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 14, 2012 @ 21:20:32

      Hi Gayle, yes that field of poppies was a long way off, but it shone out across the valley… Glad my camera brought it a little closer and happy you enjoyed my walk out and photos.. And yes I am very Well today thank you.. wishing you well also 🙂 Sue

      Like

      Reply

  20. becca givens
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 20:25:13

    A lovely afternoon spent vicariously through you and your eyes. Thank you for sharing! xo

    Like

    Reply

  21. Androgoth
    Aug 14, 2012 @ 22:51:49

    Thank you for sharing your day out with us Sue
    and what a treat, you are right everything looks
    really nice, the grounds certaily seem well cared
    for and I hope that you will add some more of your
    wickedly fine travels as this has been a nice read 🙂

    Sorry for not calling in
    very often my great friend 😦

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 15, 2012 @ 10:01:41

      Glad you enjoyed Andro, and thats fine, I too have been caught up within the Olympics as I cheer from the sofa.. As I dont usually watch a lot of TV its been extra nice to see our boys and girls do so well , so the PC got left alone for a while…
      And now the Knitting needles are out again as I knit some more for my granddaughter so Ditto if the same is true in return my good friend..
      Sue

      Like

      Reply

  22. Angelwings6
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 09:00:34

    A very different post from you Sue. a great history lesson for me….

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Aug 15, 2012 @ 10:09:01

      Yes Jude I thought It about time I shared something a little different.. and Im so pleased so many enjoyed the History Lesson that went with it.. 🙂 Wishing you a marvellous Day. Hugs Sue xx

      Like

      Reply

  23. Eclipse
    Aug 15, 2012 @ 19:56:11

    A lovely walk Sue! Beautiful pics…I’d like to see that live some day…well who knows… 🙂
    Have a great evening now
    Hugs & Love

    Like

    Reply

  24. Red
    Aug 17, 2012 @ 02:08:07

    Beautiful. I adore old homes and hate so many are lost for such an abominable reason as the penalty we pay the state for dying.

    Thank you for the walk. I needed the fresh air today!
    {HUGZ}
    Red.
    xxx

    Like

    Reply

  25. Jo Bryant
    Aug 19, 2012 @ 05:00:21

    what a wonderful place to walk Sue…thanks for sharing it with us all

    Like

    Reply

  26. LadyBlueRose's Thoughts Into Words
    Aug 29, 2012 @ 21:53:20

    an incredible field of poppies, !
    your photos are breath-taking into combining us with now and then
    I loved you sharing of your walk and the history of your world….
    I will walk again now, for I liked it the feel of it alot!
    Take Care…
    )0(
    Blessed Be
    ladyblue

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

August 2012
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
2728293031  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

