Wolf ~Pastels ~Power Animals.

 

Wolf 3

 As you can see my pastel box has been out again. And this week I drew this Wolf..

Wolves have always fascinated me and it saddens me that they get such bad press. 

In Europe the wolf can still be found in the mountainous regions of the Pyrenees, the Alps, Poland, Russia, and Scandinavia  The Wolf was virtually wiped out in Western Europe by the end of the 19th Century and like its American brother it avoids Man. And I can’t say I blame him..

Recently there has been a movement to reintroduce the wolf to remote areas of Scotland and England, although there is still a lot of protests by Farmers.

I have had one or two images of the Wolf recently drop into my meditations.. so I have been reading up on its attributes as a Power Animal.. For when Wolf appears he/she has a message for me..

Click Here for some Attributes. If Wolf is your Power Animal 

There are some wonderful Legends and Traditions associated with the Wolf.. The Shoshone believed that after death the human spirit went to the land of Coyote who along with wolf created the world. Wolf guarded the path walked by the dead. Wolf would awaken and  wash the human soul in the river, thereby making it sacred, and then the newly cleansed spirit gained entry into the promised land..  Elsewhere in North western America Wolf was linked with Raven, especially those tribes who credited Raven with the origin of the Universe. So wolf is inextricably bound with the creation story.

The Wolf as a teacher was so integral an idea to the Native Americans that in sign language which was used across the Plains, and the Mississippi Valley which spread into the Rockies- The Hand position for Medicine( power) was nearly identical to that of the sign for Wolf. 

The Plains Tribes invested much in the wisdom of the Wolf. The Pawnee were one of the most feared tribes upon the plains and the sign for  Pawnee was also ‘Wolf.’ 

The Lakota based much of the male society on the wolf, just as the female society was constructed on the model of the Buffalo.

The holy-man with wolf medicine would lead the men in a wolf-like howl prior to battle, for it was thought this would instill in them the wolf’s fighting spirit .

Wolves love to howl, they do this for several reasons, to contact each other, to announce their presence and boundaries of their territory, and for the sheer joy of doing so..

Wolf ‘Song’ has often been equated with Whale Song as maintaining the history of the Universe..

To me Wolves are not savage but family oriented, who live, work, hunt and play in a spirit of co-operation…

We could all learn much from the Wolf.. 

I hope you enjoyed my own Howl tonight…

The Joy of Wolves (Vangelis)

 

 

61 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. prenin
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 02:45:59

    Beautiful as always Sue! 🙂

    I am dreading them reintroducing the wolf to Scotland – they’ll be killed out of hand for doing what a wolf does to survive!

    Love and hugs!

    Prenin.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 26, 2011 @ 14:18:34

      Hi Prenin, Its Man who has encroached upon the Wolf’s land.. and once upon a time when nature was in Balance the wolf would keep the herds of Wild deer in its natural culled state.. Now Man has to shoot the deer to cull it.. and has driven other wild animals out of balance.. If nature is left alone it will always find its own true Balance ..

      Like

      Reply

  2. Sabina Brave
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 07:52:05

    Wonderful drawing Sue 🙂 Your wolf looks amazing… and friendly 🙂
    I heard, that wolves are family oriented. They still live here in montains. Farmers don’t like them, because they are losing a lot of animals. But I’ve never heard, that they have attacked any man.
    Have a fantastic weekend Sue 🙂
    Lots of love, and big hug 🙂
    xxxxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 26, 2011 @ 14:25:01

      Thank you Sabina,,, Yes the wolves are very family oriented, We have pushed the Wolves further back with less land in which to hunt.. man has taken the natural prey also from his forest such as the Wild boar and Deer..the Wolf was there before man.. put his fences and farmed sheep and cattle..
      The Wolf usually in the wild would hunt only the weak out of a herd of Deer or buffalo which probably wouldnt survive in its natural state a harsh winter.. And would cull the herd in a natural way.. Now we humans Cull ever day.. as we farm and cull in the Meat production line..
      Love to you too Sabina.. xx

      Like

      Reply

  3. davidtenn
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 07:57:53

    What a wonderful way to start my day, just a glimpse into your beautiful Dream World Sue, brought to life by your amazing art. What a gift!. Yes Wolf is my guardian in this life both here and in totem together with Bear. Great Spirit bless and guide you always. Love David.

    Like

    Reply

  4. Rosemary Monteith
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 14:15:27

    Enjoyed this Article Sue

    Like

    Reply

  5. Franchesca Aviva
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 15:07:32

    Beautiful work. Thank you for sharing, very interesting.
    Wolves are such beautiful and powerful beings.
    How do i find out what my power animal is? Franchesca

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 26, 2011 @ 18:51:59

      I don’t think that I ever consciously ever set out to connect to any of my own Animal Totems Franchesca, for I have now have several known Power Animals which protect and bring their wisdom and lessons my way.. I think the best way to connect is just to notice what animals keep showing up in your life.. You can find out much on the net and in books, but no book can help you discern what you feel and know within to be that connection.. and its your choice as to whether you accept them in that role or not..Here is a link I did way back in my blog.. Called Animal guides and Totems. hope the link attachment works..

      Like

      Reply

  6. zendictive
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 16:36:09

    wow, such an awesome artist (~_~) I have always felt the hawk is my power animal, I am not quite an eagle and for some strange reason I always seem to find myself close to these majestic creatures. Once, I was working on a car and a hawk landed on the top of the car as if watching to see what I was doing, unafraid, then left.

    have a quality day…Art~

    Like

    Reply

  7. Cmsmith
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 19:10:42

    Thanks, that was interesting. We’ve been seeing a fox around here. Do you know anything about foxes?

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 17:29:44

      Hi Christine Many thanks and Fox is able to get you out of any scrapes or unpleasent situations, His is said to be Sly, but he just uses his instincts and intelligence with his very sharp senses So trust your instincts to work in your favour which give you confidence when dealing with worldly affairs.. You are a very astute person making use of your observations of others.. So He may be telling you to use your intuiton and use your own charm to blend with your enviroment you find yourself in.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  8. granbee
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 20:13:39

    Sue, the way you drew the wolf’s eyes with your pastels–oh, my goodness!! I feel as though that wolf sees through several “wormholes” and “timewarps” with that wise gaze! Thank you so VERY much for sharing some of the Native American beliefs about wolves with us here today. I, personally, feel that one of my power animals is a turtle, which I happen to be writing about today, in partnership with a crow and a black Labrador Retriever! Wolves do indeed have more to teach us than I am afraid we allow ourselves time to absorv properly!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 17:40:30

      Thank you Granbee, if you follow the comments I left a link on more Native American facts about Power Animals you will learn nmore… I am not suprised about the Turtle And I will be around later to look up that post..I’m well behind again as work duty calls… The Turtle is all about our Earth Mother, about her Love and Compassion She is generous and is telling you that you are an ancient soul, and anyone who has come to know your true soul will understand that,. But be true to your own pace.. Slow down now and again.. I know you like your silent moments in solitude… and are an inspiration for others.. You swim with the deep subconciousness of your imagination..Keep swimming… but do not tire yourself… Slow down to rest upon a shore now and again.. My lovely new friend.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  9. aussieian2011
    Nov 26, 2011 @ 22:08:46

    Impressive artwork Sue and enjoyed your dissertation on the Wolf and its history and meanings to various tribe, it has always been seen as a powerful talisman in may cultures
    Ian

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 17:43:05

      Yes Ian, and the Wolf has been teaching me many new things about myself recently … Many thanks Ian, for your most welcome comments… Take care now and hope your head-ache now almost recovered my Friend 😉 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  10. Androgoth
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 00:14:53

    You have a wonderful talent for artistry Sue
    and this Wolf that you have completed is truly
    stunning 🙂 I like it a lot my great friend 🙂

    I hope that you are enjoying your weekend 🙂

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 17:49:05

      Yes I was also pleased with my new addition to my gallery.. It is framed and ready for its new owner.. A present this Christmas.. Many thanks for dropping by, I hope you too had a great weekend..:-)

      Like

      Reply

      • Androgoth
        Nov 28, 2011 @ 21:56:13

        Whoever that Wolf is for I am sure that they will be
        enjoying it for many years to come Sue, it’s brilliant 🙂

        Have a lovely rest of evening my great friend 🙂

        Androgoth XXx

        Like

        Reply

  11. becca givens
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 00:26:07

    Beautiful, Sue … I LOVE the wolf … my first “fur-child” was a wolf-hybrid (85% tundra wolf and 15% Malamute) … Cloud Dancing … iridescent white with amber eyes … a big “baby” @ 180 lbs … who only wanted to do was lick me to death with “kisses” … I miss my sweet one … but feel him with me always!! 🙂

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 17:51:33

      Arrgh Becca.. your ‘sweet-one’ sounded just perfect.. I am certain he is always in your shadow keeping you safe… What a beautiful Name.. ‘Cloud Dancing’ thank you for sharing that with me and the readers… Sending you a Hug 🙂 x

      Like

      Reply

  12. Lady Jude
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 06:54:05

    We don’t have them wolves here in New Zealand, so I don’t know very much about them at all and can’t really offer any comment on them… Love to see that you’re being creative my friend…

    Like

    Reply

  13. unsungpoet
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 08:22:39

    Beautiful pastel, and great stuff here…very enlightening. I love animal totems and the special and unique medicine each and every one of them delivers…all valuable lessons for us two-leggeds.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:11:53

      Hi Unsungpoet.. Many thanks for adding your own comment here.. Yes we two-legged have much to learn from our Animal friends.. And as you rightly say everyone of them brings their own unique qualities to us..

      Like

      Reply

  14. natswans
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 10:27:37

    Beautiful peice of art Dreamwalker and of such a magnificent beast . Wolves have always facinated me , introducing them to Scotland well I don’t know what to say about that, for fear of these beautiful creatures would be killed by humans. That would sadden me , hope you have a lovely Sunday. Love the Video and the music. Hugs Sheila xx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:16:51

      Yes Sheila I am sure there is a project of releasing some somewhere in Scotland which was soon,..I know there was alot of protests so havent kept up with the Facts maybe a reader here could enlighten us if they find out.. But you are right.. Their only danger would be From Man…. Hugs back.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  15. europasicewolf
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 20:33:12

    HoooOOOOOWWwwwwwLLLLLLLLLLLLLLllllllllllllllllllllllllLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLLL!!!!
    Yes…very interesting post…always good to know how fascinating we are to humans!!! lol 😉

    Like

    Reply

  16. Samanthamj
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 20:46:02

    Beautiful drawing! I love wolves… my father had a deep interest in them… and passed that fascination and admiration down to me, along with a general love for all animals – but, especially wolves… and dogs. Your drawing, words, and the vid you posted were a nice treat for me today… Thank you.

    Like

    Reply

  17. wordsfallfrommyeyes
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 20:54:04

    The music was great in the video, and the pictures too. The wolves – how can something so beautiful be so rip-you-apart-frightening? I mean well, it is in their nature – everyone needs to eat, and just look at us eat our pork chops at night.

    Your pastel artwork is BEAUTIFUL. I hope you sell these. Your stuff is stunning.

    Sincerely, N’n.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:52:25

      Hi Wordsfallfrommyeyes.. Thank you so much for choosing to comment.. And thank you for your compliments upon my art-work… And NO i do not sell any of my work.. I end up giving most away 🙂 , the other I hang in my Spare-room come art-room.

      The Rip-you-Apart Image is Im affraid all portrayed by the Hollywood Movies. I was going to post the video of ‘Dances With Wolves’ with Kevin Costna.. with the scene of him playing with the wolf… But due to copyright issues on YouTube it wouldnt play on here.. But Wolves are very Family orinated and Man has been misled in lots of respects as to the way of the Wolf..
      I hope this Video plays for you.. And maybe you can search out more Videos of amazing footage of Wolves at play..

      Humans Kill for pleasure… The Wolf only kills to feed, and it culls out naturally the weakest from herds,keeping Nature in Balance.. And its only Man who has pushed it to lands where there is no longer the wild game to sustain it, so it comes back onto farm land.. Land which the Wolf was there long before man.. Man has upset the balance of nature…. and is the one who Rips the World apart Im affraid my friend..
      Many Many thanks for your lovely comment.. and for giving me the oportunity to post my own comments … you are so right when you say We kill more than we need, and eat our pork-beef-chicken. And I dare not even think of how many Turkeys have just been slaughtered.. 🙂 … Well enough of my own gobble-de-guk.. 😀
      Here is the link

      Like

      Reply

  18. Eclipse
    Nov 29, 2011 @ 14:41:19

    Love yor artwork and the article Sue!
    Hope your day finds you well dear friend
    Love & Hugs….. and…Howwwl 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  19. summer breeze
    Nov 30, 2011 @ 02:53:15

    Beautiful dear dreamwalker, the wolf is sacred and precious. we can learn alot from them.
    xxx

    Like

    Reply

  20. rastelly
    Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:37:39

    Farmers hateing preditors? Depends on the farmer
    Don’t it? The coyote is much tougher then the wolf
    when it comes to weathering humans. One of my
    Aunts grows salad greens and her local
    coyote helps bust the rabbits.

    I’m a leo and I was born in the year on the dog –
    so I’m a lion dog – I guess that would translate
    to wolf – I’m also very good at howling.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Dec 01, 2011 @ 19:52:51

      Hi Rastelly, ‘Lion-Dog’ 😉 good to know you have a sense of humour too.. I need to catch up with your updates and What Crafts you have been treating yourself too.. have you given the Pastels a go yet? I will be around later to say hi. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  21. Renee Espriu
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 03:26:51

    I absolutely love your pastels, Sue. The wolf is a much misunderstood animal and here in the US are beginning to return to some areas but still, as you say, there are those who would have them remain gone. Sad, but true.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Dec 03, 2011 @ 16:48:46

      Yes Renee, This world is very Sad for they do not give our Wild life a chance,, they take what is the Fear of many misguided people’s perception of the Wolf.. Rather than learning to live in Harmony.. The Earth is a well balance conscious being who knows how to balance Nature…. Its Man who has come along and think he knows better and causes so much havoc.. by taking animals out of their own habitats around the world and re-introducing them elsewhere.. Or he exterminates them to extinction by altering their habitat… Or in the case of the wolf in many places, they don’t have the game on their territory to hunt as again Man has interfered, putting fences and taking land for developments… The Wolf is such a magnificent creature and is one we could all learn from if we followed its own code of living… Love to you Renee.. xxx

      Like

      Reply

  22. giselzitrone
    Dec 02, 2011 @ 20:54:13

    Schöner Wolf Grüsse dich mal wieder lieb und wünsche dir einen schönen besinlichen 2 Advent lieber Gruss von mir Gislinde.

    Like

    Reply

  23. Cat Forsley
    Jan 13, 2012 @ 15:13:00

    Thank You for this lovely info and Beauty of soul – I want to go further in understanding The Wolf – my totem animal – from what i have been told twice . i am gonna further check your links .
    Thx so much
    You are so Gifted ..
    Much love
    xx
    Cat

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

November 2011
M T W T F S S
« Oct   Dec »
 123456
78910111213
14151617181920
21222324252627
282930  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

