Painting with my inner Vision.

Butterfly Sunset.

Over the Weekend I had time to relax, so on Sunday I did no more than get out my paint box and set myself up under the shade and start to paint..

I knew I wanted to paint a Butterfly.. they have been in my mind a lot recently,the symbol of Transformation, Freedom, and beauty–  so out came the Acrylics and spare canvas. and I painted for 4 hours solid and this was the result..

I had seen the most wonderful sunset the night before and hadn’t started with the intention for there to be a sunset on my painting. But as I squeezed the tubes of paint to mix.. I just let my Inner Vision guide my brush strokes..

I wondered what it must be like to stand on a cliff top and look out to see such a beautiful sunset over a vast area of land.. So right at the end, I painted the figures, one resting in the shade of the tree, as the other looking out at his homeland in the distance.

We have such a beautiful World.. and yet within it there is so much Suffering.. That night as the news was turned on I saw the thousands of homeless in Somalia as they marched searching for food water and shelter as again rebel Armies forced families to flee their homelands as war is still rife there.. And Crops failed due to lack of rain.

When will we as a Human race come to know Peace? and when will the Children stop this needless suffering of starvation..

Below is another Poem I wrote many years ago  in which the same part of the world suffered great starvation..

LARGE BROWN EYES.

Large brown eyes that stare straight ahead

No clothing or possessions not even a bed.

March ever onward to the next reservation.

Searching for food, trying to stop their starvation.

Large brown eyes that have done no harm.

A bittersweet land so difficult to farm.

Crops that fail for the lack of rain.

How does anyone survive in this terrain?

Large brown eyes that have lost their shine.

Children that are fed on a sugary brine.

Who will help them solve their plight?

It’s not only the climate, but also tribesmen they fight.

Large brown eyes so full of despair

Will any one help them, does anyone care.

Half of the world that has so much to give

Yet they need so little to enable them to live.

Large brown eyes that have shed there last tear

To a land of plenty gone, with no fear.

A never-ending circle comes around to repeat.

That it ever should happen is beyond belief.

Large brown eyes that survive another season

Enduring so much from mans lack of reason.

Calling all nations with mountains of wealth

Bring forth the grain and knowledge of self-help.

Plant the seed of hope, bring forth the grain

Large brown eyes one day will smile again.

Written when watching the plight of African nations starving amidst the tribal wars.10th march 1993.

If You would  maybe like to help some children Click the

Save the Children Link below.. this is one of the charities I support every month..

Save the Children

Β© Sue Dreamwalker 1993- 2011 All rights reserved.

 

30 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. paintingmeover
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 01:16:46

    Your artwork is beautiful. The world needs more beautiful things.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Renee Espriu
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 04:22:31

    I love what you have painted here and your poem below speaks volumes. I, too, draw and paint and sometimes it is that inner vision that brings about images that one wonders how it happened. Beautiful!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 09:53:58

      Hi Renee.. thank you– Yes it is amazing sometimes the Canvas on your inner mind always doesnt translate onto the canvas for real.. I have been so frustrated at times knowing the image I want to create and yet being unable to create as my Vision see’s it.. So I have now found just dont try, and I let myself go with the Flow.. As we should in all areas of our Life.. Letting Life Flow freely Keeps the energy around us flowing .. Be well my new friend.. πŸ™‚ Dreamwalker

      Like

      Reply

  3. summer breeze
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 04:48:39

    Beautiful, what a wonderful place to sit and ponder the world πŸ™‚ So lovely to be able to get your paints out and go with the flow πŸ™‚ you are very talented my dear friend.
    Have a wonderful weekend and thank you for sharing your beautiful painting with us.
    Summer Breeze

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:01:54

      Yes my Hubby laughed at me Summer as it took me nearly an Hour to just get set up as I rigged up my easel that wouldn’t stay upright, then I altered the Sunshade and my chair to the right position, got all my paints out and brushes, applied Sunscreen. Popped on my Sunglasses and hat.. and Sigh I was set… then I laughed as I sat down, as I forgot to bring out the Canvas!!!!…. AGE does a funny thing to you!!! πŸ™‚ πŸ˜€ πŸ˜‰ hehee!!

      Like

      Reply

  4. Sam373
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 05:48:36

    Such beauty can only come from intent grounded in perfect love. Kindred Spirit you rock indeed!

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:03:59

      Thank you Sam :-D.. and Im especially pleased to see you dropped in to comment, how nice to see you again.. Thank you, but I always say it takes one to know one.. So keep Rocking too My friend.. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  5. Lady Jude
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:04:49

    That’s what I like to read my friends being creative, I’m glad to see the painting you have done.. I’ve found myself a lovely photo I’d like to paint so if I go quiet again you know what I’ll be doing don’t you…..
    Thanks for being inspiring my friend,…
    Hugs Lady Jude

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 07, 2011 @ 10:08:37

      Oh I do hope you get into the mode of painting, what better way to spend your winter than to paint… I have often done that too.. The Rocks that I painted I did from photos I’d taken.. along with a little bit of my own make-believe…. You are such a good artist also Lady Jude.. Enjoy … πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  6. natswans
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 12:17:23

    What a beautiful painting Dreamwalker love the colours and especially that pretty little butterfly. Hugs Sheila x

    Like

    Reply

  7. europasicewolf
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:44:22

    Beautiful creativity at work πŸ™‚ Create a little peace in your own small part of the world and watch it blossom and spread…. and in the meantime have a lovely sunny week! πŸ™‚

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 11:45:54

      Thank you Wolfie, I got lost within my own little realm for a while which is always nice.. Its a case of Sunshine and Showers here this week my friend. Happy Howling back and I will be along to your Icy one shortly.. xox

      Like

      Reply

  8. CMSmith
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 23:27:10

    Beautiful. I don’t know how I missed it that you painted. I guess I always wondered if some of the images were yours. Just lovely.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 11:49:09

      Most of the images I post with my blogs are not mine and are from my collection in my photobuket account Christine, .. You can view most of my art work in my Page section under the heading of Hobbies Art Etc.. Thank you for dropping in.. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  9. eclipseofthemoon
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 07:46:31

    It’s a great one Sue, love your colorful canvas. As I can see we’ve been in the same mood lately πŸ™‚ …. we need colours in our lives, too many grey events everywhere…Keep up your good work
    Hugs and Love/Sanna

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 11:53:15

      We certainly do need Lots of Colour Eclipse, I agree the world is getting such a negative dark place with many shadows.. Lets all add a little colour here and there when ever we can either by our Paints~ or by how we shine… .. Lol xox

      Like

      Reply

  10. Androgoth
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 10:57:11

    I can see that you are such a wicked Artist Sue,
    four hours painting and with such fangtastic results…

    Have a lovely Friday and weekend now…
    And remember – Be Good, If You Can I Mean? lol

    Androgoth XXx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 11:56:58

      I dont think Ive ever been discribed as a Wicked Artist before LOL.And Im always Good now Androgoth!.. πŸ™‚ Well…… mostly! .. πŸ˜‰ Enjoy your Weekend now… and dont indulge too much on all that Carrot-Cake!.. πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  11. aussieian2010
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 13:54:29

    A beautiful painting Sue and for me it talks a lot and the poem may have been written a while back but has much to say today Sue , that poem is written for the poor of the South African country in the media today , why oh why can countries support a war yet cannot see the poverty around them , why oh why do video clips of poverty torn countries depict people holding guns , how can you afford a gun yet cannot afford a syringe , how can you afford weapons and not support schools
    The world shits me off sometimes as some of these countries are supported by western worlds with arms and ammunition for political purposes , yet not one of those gunmen or arms supplier can look into the dark brown eyes of a baby as its cradled in its mothers arms and slowly surrenders to malnutrition and giving its soul to God
    Ian

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 17:10:12

      I agree Ian, there is something seriously wrong with this World and leaders of Nations when this type of thing happens, Its a case of standing back and doing nothing.. as I feel many want to reduce populations.. and do not care unless there is some resource such as Gold or Oil to be had.. No wonder this Planet has had enough of the Human Being!…. we are parasites in many respects.. not only feeding off the Earth, but in controlling others.. The Have’s and Have Nots.. I get so cross…. Thanks Ian for your comments x Sue

      Like

      Reply

  12. Rosemary Monteith
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 14:45:03

    The art work is beautiful Sue

    Like

    Reply

  13. jennygoth
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 22:02:16

    lovely work nice to loose yourself in a canvas sometimes havent done it for ages my daughters an artist shes doing her second diploma this year in art and design your very talented dreamer xxjen have a great weekend

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 09, 2011 @ 02:10:47

      Thanks Jen, I sometimes wish I had been formally trained, I inherited my gift from my Dad, who was also very good at art.. I just follow my instincts and paint.. Good Luck to your Daughter in her diploma.. Wishing you a great weekend… πŸ™‚

      Like

      Reply

  14. Raven
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 20:31:51

    the poem is another heartfelt lovely poem my dear friend. Save the Children is a great cause.
    I like your painting…it looks like my homeland πŸ™‚ you have a way with color…your inner light is within this it shines through.

    BTW: LINK me please to Aussie’s Emu so I can see the sheep or wait I see him up there but I don’t know if this is the correct blog to see the sheep.

    I have been having problems with my emails, my updates but I believe since I have a new email it may be what caused the problem.

    LOOK for my email… I shall email everyone. Smiles,
    Raven xoxo

    Like

    Reply

  15. dogkisses
    Jul 11, 2011 @ 02:27:33

    Beautiful!!! I saved this as my desktop background. I love the big flowers too and the people.

    Your poem is wonderful. Very moving.

    I was thinking today of a little girl in the US who had a terrible plight. It has been big news for several years but I was late getting it. It broke my heart. Then another girl’s story is out that also breaks my heart. Then, when I read your poem and the “big brown eyes,” well, I just don’t understand how all these things happen and worse, why we can’t do better if we are so smart. If we are the so called smartest living creatures, us humans, (which I personally don’t fully believe is so), then why can’t we feed every child on this planet? It is so sad.

    Peace and Prayers for the children.

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 11, 2011 @ 16:21:51

      You have my permission for the desk top.. with Love.. There are many awful stories out there in this world Michelle.. as We treat each other in terrible ways.. The problem is Michelle.. those that are the powers that be, dont want every child to survive.. for they want less Humans upon this planet.. Yes… a SAD world… xox..

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

