Transformation.

I have just come from my friends Summers Blog and great minds must think alike Summer, for I was about to blog about Butterflies, and how they too seem to have been less this year..The pesticides we use on crops I am sure are killing many larvae  off as they kill the weeds and nettles many like to lay their eggs upon..   A Butterfly’s life span is so Short, and they need all the help we can give them.. This year I have deliberately kept a Wild Patch with a corner of my garden, with Fox Gloves for the bees which have been swarming all over them, and nettles and wild flowers seeds I had sown.. Many haven’t flowered this year but hopefully they will come through next year.

The Poem below is one I have already submitted but a while back now.. so I hope you enjoy as much if you happen to read it the second time around..

  

Butterfly, Butterfly, Dancing on the breeze

You flit through the heavens, and among the trees

You fly through the air, like a leaf upon the wind,

Tumbling and turning, beating your soft wings

The meadow is your haven, with flowers of nectar sweet,

I watch you fly to heaven, while I sit upon my seat.

Your message of transformation, as I let go of old

And I watch your new freedom as I ask to be bold

My sorrows held within me, as again I give a sigh

You hypnotise me with your beauty, as you fly on by

You whisper in my ear, to trust in all that’s good

For your lifespan is so precious, so live it as we should

You never waste a moment, searching for your mate

For time for you is limited, yet here I hesitate.

Teach me to trust and let myself fly free

And push away the dark clouds, and let myself be me

The Daisies are many, gathered all around

Each one pure perfection, pushing through the ground

They nod their heads together, all in unison

Their fragrance on the wind, smiling at the Sun.

Nature at her best, she neither worries nor does toil

She just keeps on growing, and pushing through the soil.

And even when the ground is hard with all the frost

The flowers push on upwards, and nothing is ever lost.

And so my Butterfly, as at last you’re flying free…

Of caterpillar’s drudgery, of munching under tree

I know you hold a lesson for all of us to share

Your wings are made in heaven and are beyond compare.

And when we see your beauty, we’re reminded of all good.

How each can transform our lives, learning how to love.

So flit around the world, and spread your love and light.

For when I see you on my path.. Then I know I’m alright.

© Sue Dreamwalker 2010- 2011 All rights reserved.

24 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. summer breeze
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 11:21:39

    Great minds do think alike..LOL 🙂
    A very Beautiful poem my dear friend, I only wish I could see them once more!
    We have lots of flowers for the butterflies and a meadow at the back for all wildlife (including fox’s that sometimes appear in the house!) but no sign of the butterfly yet and it’s sad. I hope they will return one day.
    Hugs to you my friend,
    Summer Breeze

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 17:09:03

      I Saw Some Cabbage White today thats all Summer.. I hope so too. xx

      Like

      Reply

      • summer breeze
        Jul 07, 2011 @ 04:42:47

        Hi Dreamwalker, 🙂 Yes, there have been a few White Butterflies around but thats all so far.. fingers crossed we will see at least one colored one before the end of the year.
        Summer xxx

        Like

        Reply

        • Sue Dreamwalker
          Jul 07, 2011 @ 09:56:08

          Oh my fingers and Toes are Crossed good and tight Summer LOL.. 🙂 .. I saw a Speckled Brown yesterday.. only one.. and a couple more Whites.. 🙂 Hope you are RESTING!!? 😉

          Like

          Reply

          • summer breeze
            Jul 07, 2011 @ 14:43:45

            🙂 I am resting dear Dreamwalker, only my fingers are doing the walking lol 🙂
            I’m well on the mend now, the meds are doing their job, now i’m bored 😉 lol will have to do some of my crafts while I rest.
            have a wonderful weekend my dear friend.
            Hugs
            Summer

            Like

            Reply

  2. aussieian2010
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 13:16:52

    Beautiful words on something so beautiful on one of mother natures creations
    Butterflies always are a favourite in any young girls heart and I see on my spaces friends today that two little girls are writing of their beautiful butterflies
    Wish both little girls dreams of the days of childhood and their pleasures in the beauty of the butterfly that brings joy into their hearts
    Ian

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 17:12:17

      Thank you Ian… A Butterfly is so very special.. and has always held meaning for me in life.. Unfortunately we are seeing a decline in these wonderful creatures. have a great week Ian..

      Like

      Reply

  3. dogkisses
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 13:44:04

    Beautiful!

    I’ll share part of a poem I wrote. I can’t remember it all.

    Butterfly where might you land? On top of the Zinnia, or in the palm of my hand? Will you come to the garden? Planted just for you… We’ll watch you for hours, Dancing the way you do. ‘Til the sun goes down and you can’t be found—

    (can’t remember the rest of it right now).

    They are so incredibly fragile. Amazing that they ever make it to being butterflies and then amazing when they live as butterflies. I’ve had many this year. More than ever! I don’t have any flowers (cause I live in woods) but a construction company dumped a big pile of dirt behind my apartment. Oh how I dislike this pile of dirt! And will likely move as a result. In the meantime, the butterflies came to visit. They love the dirt b/c their favorite flowers and trees grew out of it. Queen Anne’s Lace they like and is also a Larval food plant.

    Where I live, the swallowtails are the most common butterflies. I can’t remember what their larval food plant is, or if they use more than one.

    Fennel is a larval food plant and such a beauty in the garden. Esp., bronze fennel. Another is of course, Milkweed (Asclepias Tuberosa) used by the Monarch.

    Here’s to the butterflies and all the magic they bring to us!
    Thank you for giving them this space and your beautiful words.
    Your friend,
    Michelle. (hugs and doggie kisses too).

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 05, 2011 @ 17:18:01

      Michelle, what a lovely verse you wrote.. and I am at least pleased that the butterflies are around where you live.. Unfortunately even if you do have to put up with the Rubble.. But at least they love the wild flowers etc.. Thats why I left the weeds this year as I knew they liked nettles to lay eggs ..You are a mind filed of knowledge too about their food stuffs.. I hope they continue to bring colour and happy thoughts around where you live and to brighten up your environment.. Hugs back my friend.. 🙂

      Like

      Reply

  4. natswans
    Jul 05, 2011 @ 15:21:28

    Lovely poem Dreamwalker do you remember me writing a blog ….. that one early September , I noticed my nettles were covered in black caterpillars. Not knowing what they were I later found out that they were the Peacock butterfly. The nettles were getting older and had started to go to seed . Thank you, lovely week to you and hope the sunshine to. Hugs Sheila xx

    Like

    Reply

  5. Lady Jude
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 02:08:39

    Thanks for sharing your lovely poetry Sue, I always love the butterflies in the garden every summer… I’m keeping warm Sue, but it’s cold out now…

    Like

    Reply

  6. jennygoth
    Jul 06, 2011 @ 20:55:10

    hi dreamer lovely poem i used to have a butterfly bush in the garden and lots did land on it but they definately have diminished xxjen

    Like

    Reply

  7. Renee Espriu
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 04:25:08

    Beautiful imagery and words to go with. A lovely piece.

    Like

    Reply

  8. europasicewolf
    Jul 07, 2011 @ 16:03:22

    Good point…butterflies do seem to be an increasingly rare sighting in our summers. Saw two the other day though, caught my eye because they are such infrequent visitors now…lovely creatures…bring a summery peace with them 🙂

    Like

    Reply

  9. eclipseofthemoon
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 07:28:01

    I haven’t thought about that, but really, butterflies are so rarely around nowdays. I remember seeing a few (very tiny kind, white) for a month ago in the grass at one picnic, but that was it….
    Thank you for sharing this gorgeous imagery Dreamwalker…

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Jul 08, 2011 @ 11:51:05

      Hi Eclipse, yes its sad it seems whom ever I talk too this Summer has seen a decline in them for what ever reasons.. They have such a brief life as a butterfly too.. many thanks for your comments Eclipse be well dear friend.. xx

      Like

      Reply

  10. Rosemary Monteith
    Jul 08, 2011 @ 14:41:19

    Hi Sue, we seem to be seeing a few more butterflies this year in N. Ireland, especially the coloured ones, not just white. So it may be slightly better for them here this year.

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

July 2011
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

