Caring At A Price.

Caring At a Price.

Most of my friends here will understand that I try to stay positive on what most of life throws out. But during these times of ‘Cut-backs’ due to over spending of our Governments and bailing out our Bankers who still pay themselves huge rewards for mismanaging taxpayers monies in a corrupt monetary system even we knew that it couldn’t go on forever by printing money to get us out of the red..

I don’t mind paying my Taxes, having worked most of my life except for 5 yrs when my children were small, and even then I worked from home..

And I don’t mind tightening my belt along with the rest of us, or having to work till I’m 65, or paying 20% VAT  extra on all Goods, or paying the hidden ‘Green’ Tax or my Road Tax, or the extortionate Tax Duty on our Fuel here in the UK.. and the list could go on and on and on..

But what I do object to Very strongly is when these ‘Cuts’ affect those who have no Voice to speak out for themselves. Those who are vulnerable Adults. Those whom I care for. Those with Learning Disabilities

I care when local authorities cut their Care Packages at the stroke because it’s cheaper to give them less hours of support, so they can cut staffing costs down..

I care when after nearly 10yrs of supporting these adults who have learning difficulties, whom have been brought out of residential care in pioneering Support Schemes to live as you or I do within our communities a more independent life.

Whereby they have been able to shape their own lives with informed choices and decision making in ordinary homes with their friends with our day to day support.  When at the stroke of someone’s pen  they can be shipped back into residential  care homes, parted from their friends, refused Day Care Services, our support and plummeted back to Residential type living. And there is nothing we can do about it.

I do not care that will Iwill no longer be employed by early 2011, I’ve faced redundancy twice before and each time I bounced back higher..

But these people will not bounce back.. When they were first integrated to live within the community some didn’t even know how to communicate as the calming drugs they’d been on had kept them like zombies. But over time and patience and less drugs, we saw their individual personalities  come back to the fore. as they learnt how to cook, clean, and enjoy life as you or I.  And yes on a bad day some still can have challenging behaviours, but then I know many people in many walks of life who have bad days and throw their own tantrums. How else can some of these people with learning difficulties tell us how they are feeling?

Last week I went to a meeting which informed us of our Cutbacks and our future.

When I challenged my Boss’s where was our services users choices in all of this? I was told “ Forget the word Choice”.. They have no choice, this is about Profit and Spending Cuts..

That night I cried, not for me, I know I’ll be fine, but I cried for those who I care for, and what will happen to their future..

and I cried for a world where Caring comes at a Price..

Where Profit comes before people.

And I cried for a World that has lost its way.

 
 

© Sue Dreamwalker  2010 All rights reserved.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. suemacarthur
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 19:42:22

    Sue
    the worlds a better place because there are people like you in it,
    you give so much,of your self, not just to those you care about but to other too
    God Bless you for making our world a better place to live in
    Take care
    Sue

    Like

    Reply

  2. summer breeze
    Oct 23, 2010 @ 20:14:04

    Dear Dreamwalker, it IS so very hard and frustrating these time’s of today’s greed and profit at the expense of humanity! My heart goes out to you as I know you will feel this very deeply when the time come’s. Wish I could say and do more. Hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • suedreamwalker
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 23:00:14

      Thank you Summer, Yes I will.. I know in my heart though that these people have progressed due to the efforts and care of our Team.. and I hold that thought close. Knowing these Cutbacks havent been thought through for the knock on effects it will have..

      Like

      Reply

  3. Lady Jude
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 03:42:02

    There has been so many people’s lives affected by this. Quite a few military people have lost their careers and it’s definitely a downward spiral for the U.K. Yes! I do agree with you when they cut back on the benefits of those who are challenged, it’s heartbreaking as they struggle with so much throughout there lives. I hope they manage to rise to the challenge and not get to depressed about things.
    Hugs Lady J

    Like

    Reply

  4. lorrena
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 06:44:36

    The “calling card” for life is the open consciousness you have embraced my friend ,and the way you wrap your good intention about everything you do.
    That is the caring we should all adhere to, and it is not the sum of a “material world” and the price tags we all attach to our endeavours,it is the love of individuals who go beyond the work they do for others in these kind of situations to let others know the truth.It is truly sad we have come to place a price tag on caring Sue

    namaste my friend

    Like

    Reply

    • suedreamwalker
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 23:06:39

      Yes Lorrena, thank you for your time and trouble to comment here, Good Intent is the key to the way we all use the consciousness, I just wish local and central governments would realise how to use that consciousness we know and use so well my friend.

      Like

      Reply

  5. Stevy Ritter
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 10:16:16

    Dreamwalker, you have the heart of gold<3 At first, I thought you were talking about us in the USA, then we haven't got the VAT yet. Even here, government takes away from those who can ill afford it. Best wishes for you in 2011..I have been down that road myself.

    Much love from over the pond. xoxo

    Like

    Reply

    • suedreamwalker
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 23:10:47

      Hi Steve, thank you for your best wishes for 2011, but I will guided down my path.. Please send your thoughts out for those who do not have the choices we do.. Best wishes to you over the Pond and your loved ones..

      Like

      Reply

  6. natswans
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 16:55:21

    I will so agree I wish there where more people like yourself who actually do care. Some of the cuts and I know it must be done, are so drastic and I feel for those who will suffer the day care services and those people ‘s lives that evolve round these precious places ..etc, Thank you Dreamwalker.

    Like

    Reply

  7. T girl
    Oct 24, 2010 @ 22:47:53

    Hey my dear Sue!

    If only there would be more people caring like you.
    I’m doing very well. Life has changed. Big positive change for me. Sometimes I can’t believe this is happening to me. And that’s just because the past. Was not nice one. So, I can’t complain at all. You will know what I’m talking about when you’ll read this poem:
    “Do you remember the day
    when we started this exciting game
    do you remember the place
    when we first looked each other in the face
    do you remember how very much
    I was glad of your gentle touch
    do you remember why
    it is always so hard to say goodbye
    we are like two wild horses
    attraction is caused by our magical forces
    do you remember … I do
    my world has changed because of you.”

    Hug,
    T girl

    Like

    Reply

    • suedreamwalker
      Oct 24, 2010 @ 23:15:14

      Great you dropped By T—- and Wow!!!!… I am grinning here wider than the screen lol… so pleased my friend so very pleased for you,… May the Magical Force stay with you T and may Love and Light surround you always!! xx hugsxx

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

October 2010
M T W T F S S
« Sep   Nov »
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Samhain Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

