Stone Circles

 

The Other weekend we went walking into the Derbyshire countryside that I so love, being brought up a small village in Hope Valley Derbyshire Peak District, I try to take every opportunity to revisit these wonderful Hills and valleys, which are rich in views and history.

Recently I seem to have got the itch to seek out sites of ancient stone circles and I am sure most of you are aware of the most famous one, that of Stonehenge, But there are many of these stone circles scattered around the UK, Ireland and many places around Europe. So off we set to find Arbor Low which is often referred to as Stonehenge of the North. This stone circle is situated in the Derbyshire Peak District only a few miles from where I used to go to secondary school in the Market Town of Bakewell. And Yet I had never visited this place before.

As I approached the stone circle one thing I noticed was that the wind picked up and seemed to blow that bit stronger within the circle, despite the circle being encased in a rise of earth. I since found out that the wind always seems to blow here.

I walked around the edge of the circle and in my mind I asked permission to enter and did so at the far side, where I sat upon the centre stone absorbing the energies one could clearly feel.. I felt absolute peacefulness as I looked out to the surrounding countryside the only noise being that of the wind in my hair and the occasional bleating of the lambs as they had lost their mothers and nuzzled for more milk.

The Cows too were silently grazing and the whole landscape took on a quiet peace that as I sat in the silence enveloped my whole being, bringing calmness and peace.. I closed my eyes and gave thanks for this peace and thanks to our Earth Mother as I touched the stones.

I meditated for a while and as I did so it was as if I was no longer separate from the stones, but I had become part of them, and I felt myself belonging to the Earth and all that was in it. With it brought memories of ancient times flooding back to a people who lived at one with Nature and who knew how all things both on Earth and in the Celestial realms were all inter-connected.

 

The Stones now all are fallen like dominoes are huge stones, which when they were standing must have been a wondrous sight.

Further along about a 5minute walk is a Barrow, a huge mound which was thought to have been a burial site. But still much is not known about the reasoning for these sites and we only presume the reasoning’s behind many finds such as these.  For not many bones were found here and it is thought that some of these barrows were only used later as scared places and used for burial purposes. One thing though is that they are all placed in alignment with the celestial bodies the stars. Our ancestors had more knowledge than we in precisely aligning and predicting eclipses etc along with catastrophes such as the appearance of Comets.

One thing that always fascinates me is how some of these huge stones weighing many tons could have been moved in some cases hundreds of miles from where the actual stone was quarried from, and I suspect they had gifts we have since lost through time.

Time certainly flew by that morning, and I was reluctant to leave, but I will be back…

Enjoy the photos.

Dreamwalker

Arbor Low Stone Circle

 

 

Looking out from the centre stone over the Derbyshire Hills

The Circle viewed from above. with the Barrow or burial mound to the left.

Stood on the Burial Mound.

 

After I left the circle the Sheep moved in.

http://www.mysteriousbritain.co.uk/england/derbyshire/featured-sites/arbor-low-stone-circle.html

 

 

 

 

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Babblelot
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 01:26:42

    Just beautiful my friend. Thanks for sharing your trip. It was very interesting.

    Like

    Reply

  2. Jussara Luna
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 04:15:22

    Hello, dear DreamWalker, very interesting this entrythanks for sharing the photos.Good night and wish you a nice Friday,many hugs, Jussara Luna

    Like

    Reply

  3. Natural ♥
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 05:15:15

    Hi Dreamwalker, I enjoyed your photo and words very much. Thanks for sharing your experience. Smiles~

    Like

    Reply

  4. Angel eyes
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 06:13:18

    fascinating dee

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sheila
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 17:06:10

    Beautiful Dreamwalker loved the photo\’s and your experience thank you for sharing. Hugs Sheila x

    Like

    Reply

  6. Sue
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 17:49:16

    DreamwalkerThis blog like many of you blog has made me stop and thinkLove the pic\’sTake careSue

    Like

    Reply

  7. ☆° Lady Jude
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 11:08:07

    This will be one mystery that man will never know I guess. Thanks for sharing your day out.Hugs Lady J

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kingfisher
    Aug 20, 2010 @ 23:26:14

    Has David Cowan been there Dreamwalker ? looks fantastic ,such an energy here I can imagine thanks for sharing xxx

    Like

    Reply

  9. Sheila
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 19:58:21

    Hi Dreamwalker that was lovely concerning the little sparrow. Thank you for your visit hope you are well and enjoying the open air.Lots of rain here in the West Country but warm. Well September can be a lovely month lets hope so. xx

    Like

    Reply

  10. T
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 20:57:12

    Amazing place! People in past know how to make such places and why. Today the story is different. When and where we lost this … hmmm … Hug,T

    Like

    Reply

  11. Dreamwalker
    Aug 23, 2010 @ 22:05:45

    Yes Indeed T-girl When did we lose this…. The thing now is to Remember WHO we are.. and WHY we came and help HEAL this Earth …

    Like

    Reply

  12. summer breeze
    Oct 03, 2010 @ 18:06:13

    Well they look like they all transfered ok, so no more worries…LOL Hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

August 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jul   Sep »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

