The Nine Ladies Stone Circle

Nine Ladies Stone Circle

For some time now I have wanted to visit an old place that I last visited with an uncle when I was around 9 or 10 yrs of age.. The image of this place along with literature about stone circles have been cropping up for weeks now, and as I am one to follow synchronicities and intuition, on Saturday we went to Stanton Moor on the Derbyshire Hills. The day was cloudy but very warm, as my wisps of memory kept surfacing, as we set off to find the ‘Nine Ladies Stone Circle’

My hubby drove following the very narrow lanes with only room for one vehicle which from time to time had places wide enough to pass another vehicle, holding our breath as we went around tight corners hoping that we didn’t meet another vehicle coming in the opposite direction. We eventually found the Quarry which we had read about on the net, and so knew we were not far from it.. Although we managed to miss the main shorter entrance route, we followed our noses and headed off into the Woods and along the moors following the rough tracks, and enjoying the stunning views along the way..

 

We soon found a notice board giving us a walker’s route map, and knew we were heading the right direction.

I took some pictures along the way of the beautiful views over Rowsley .  I was extremely pleased with myself, as I felt full of energy, walking steadily, not rushing, talking in all that nature was offering, enjoying the butterflies, grasshoppers and the birds chirping over head as well as the odd sheep and moorland with its foxgloves and bracken, heathers and Bilberries.

 

After around an hour’s walk we entered a small thicket of wood, and as we did so, I felt the air and energy almost instantly change. The breeze we had enjoyed died down, and the air became very still and peaceful. I held out my hands palms down to the ground as I walked, I could feel the energies making my hands tingle as my heart beat that bit faster. Even my Hubby said he too had felt the shift in energy and commented how peaceful the place felt.

As we walked through the woods we saw families camping, with hammocks strung, and as we got closer to the Stone circle a young courting couple were sat holding hands in the centre, absorbing the energies this ancient site had to offer..

 

They obligingly moved while we took a few photos and we then joined them in the centre, sitting crossed legged I too then absorbed the peace this circle offered, and sent up my own meditative thoughts. Later we  the couple and I exchanged a few words of the original purpose for these stone circles, and pondered on the ancient ceremonies which took place at such sites. And discussed the energies felt. But I felt nothing but peace.

I felt slightly envious of this young couple who had camped there the previous night, and who said that this place held such tranquil and calm vibrations even in the dead of night. Wishing that I could stay longer and absorb more of this portal of energy.

I know that I was meant to travel once again to this site, as it awakened a new sense of purpose and peacefulness within me, that I hadn’t felt in weeks. As I came away I saw the offerings people and their own ceremonies had made to a small oak tree, as they tied ribbons, flowers and crystals to the tree. It did my heart good to know that many still on this earth understood the old ways of offerings to our Earth Mother, and connecting to the energies many have forgotten how to access and feel.

I too held the tree, adding my own thanks to this wonderful Earth, giving my own energies in exchange for the trees own healing powers, as I felt the tree pulsate beneath my hands…I  breathed in and felt invigorated and alive as I turned to leave this ancient site with a huge smile upon my face. Thanking our Earth Mother for her bountiful gifts..

The moor was once covered in Forest, of Larch, Fir and Oak trees, but was cut down in World War 1 by the First Canadian Army Women’s Corps to provide timber for the trenches in France.

Here is a picture of the Stone from the Quarry, used for building today.

 

Dreamwalker.

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Summer Breeze
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 23:21:43

    Good evening my dear friend..my last visit tonight on pc then I\’m off to watch the football.. have to watch the last one..lol I see we cant just copy and paste a pic any more in blogs..all you get is jibberish text showing on home page & updates..

    Like

    Reply

  2. Summer Breeze
    Jul 11, 2010 @ 23:24:39

    part2 ;-0 what will they come up with next!!!! love this blog..what a peaceful place.. and the fox gloves are just beautiful.. I bet this place is full of wonder & mystery.. have a lovely evening..hugs to you, xxx

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sheila
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 00:05:32

    Evening Dreamwalker what a beautiful place so peaceful how much I love these kind of places. So glad you ventured back there again love the foxgloves. Thank you for sharing Hugs Sheila x

    Like

    Reply

  4. Happy JAK
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 05:44:21

    Praise to God of all creation! He sent forth His life-giving power to all that exists. Dreamwalker, I’m so happy that you could take some time-out and be one with nature, inhaling and absorbing all of God’s wonderful life-giving and healing power. We need to connect back with our Creator to feel love. How great it is to be alive, to feel alive and invigorated with an inner peace that can only come from Him. “A tree is an incomprehensible mystery” In His Love, Kerrie. xXx

    Like

    Reply

  5. Natural ♥
    Jul 12, 2010 @ 08:51:08

    What a wonderful trip. The Good Lord help you connect with a beautiful and peaceful place. Thanks for sharing this wonderful blog with picture. Have a great week. Smiles~

    Like

    Reply

  6. Teira
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 08:33:16

    Indeed a place of power…..Thanks for sharing this journey…x

    Like

    Reply

  7. T
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 20:53:32

    I am so glad you had a chance to visit this place again after so many years. I\’m sure there is special energy and that you felt it even maybe only in calmness. Do you know when they discovered this place has speciality?Hug,T

    Like

    Reply

  8. Rosemary
    Jul 13, 2010 @ 22:34:37

    Wonderful Blog, and beautiful photos

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

July 2010
M T W T F S S
« Jun   Aug »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

