Flat Stanley meets a Snake..

 

Snakes, Crosses and Flat Stanley.

Today I braved the cold wind and wet weather to go for a walk out on the Derbyshire Moors.. Togged up with woolly hat and gloves more in keeping for a winters day rather than that of Spring May day.. We set off to find a bluebell wood which I knew existed when I was a young girl, and got lost…Well it was a good job I had Flat Stanley to keep me company on my journey as we walked through woods and over bogs and climbed up hills and over styles..  I never did find the bluebell wood, just the odd bluebell out here and there..

 

But Flat Stanley stumbled across a couple of landmarks that in ages past helped to keep the traveller on the straight and narrow and stop them from getting lost.. Here he is sat on the bottom of this Cross.. These crosses helped show the route and it is said that they were probably erected by Monks from Beauchief Abbey in the 13th Century…

 

 

 

 

In the Peak District in Derbyshire there are many small narrow roads, these used to be the old coach routes in which the coach and horses would travel..  In ages past they would travel these routes too with pack horses..

Baslow  mentioned here is not far from where I used to live as a young girl, in fact it was only a couple of miles away from the village I lived in, A place called Stoney Middleton, which happens to be the next village to the Plague Village of Eyam..  But I will take Flat Stanley to  Eyam another day.

During our hike, we saw a few people looking intently into the long bog grasses and we stopped to say hello.. A very nice young boy said.. Hello back to us and asked were we out looking for Adders. Now Adders are snakes native to this country, and although I have lived many years, and I didn’t want to tell Flat Stanley my age,  and  I have walked for many a mile in the countryside over those years, I have never seen a Adder out in the wild…. Now Flat Stanley may be use to venomous snakes out in Australia,, but well I was very curious and so walked very carefully so as not to disturb the Adder.. The boy said there were two, but one had slithered off into the long grass, but this one appeared to be soaking up the sun that had just come out.. So I took a photo of the Adder.. Here he/she is..

Adder Snake in the wild.

Flat Stanley took it all in his Aussie stride.. I just hope that Flat Dreamwalker is as brave if she meets some of the creepy crawlies out there in Aussie Land..

Have a nice day all you good folks out there and take care of each other..

Dreamwalker

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Natural ♥
    May 05, 2010 @ 19:57:24

    Sound like you both had a good walk. I enjoyed your experience, all but the Adder! That\’s a big snake to find. Snakes make me a little nervous? I\’m glad you both made it back home safely to share this blog. Hugs~

    Like

    Reply

  2. Summer Breeze
    May 05, 2010 @ 23:06:46

    WOW what an adventure, I love your flat stanley adventures, they always make me smile when I see him at the bottom of something or hiding somewhere…Oh to be a kid again..lol A certain someone must be loving this..I know I am..lolYou did very well to get a good shot of an adder & brave too… lol… Glad flat stanley showed you the way home…lol.. Bluebells maybe late this year because of the cold, I have loads in the garden but none in flower yet! YES winter has returned to good old uk, You know what dreamwalker & flat stanley, I may just move to florida or aus…..LOL.. enjoy MORE adventures..HUGS xxx

    Like

    Reply

  3. Angel eyes
    May 06, 2010 @ 00:55:24

    sounds like such an amzing time angel eyes

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sue
    May 06, 2010 @ 06:30:12

    Dreamwalker, I think you would do just fine in AussieFor you my friend have a big heartTake careSue

    Like

    Reply

  5. Happy JAK
    May 07, 2010 @ 16:36:19

    I love all the stories you make. Love Jaiden xoxoxoxo

    Like

    Reply

  6. T
    May 08, 2010 @ 22:53:41

    I have a great idea … you should send Flat Stanley to one of yor friends here and then he/she to another. I see Stanley loves to trevel. He could visit space friends and show where all he would be. If we can\’t visit each other, he could do that. Hihihi … I imagine too much … hihihi. I know there would be a problem for some because of addresses. Ehh … it\’s probably better that he stays with you. He\’s comfotable with you and you have a great time together. .-)Hug,T

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

May 2010
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

