Poem: School Days

Photobucket

 

School days

 

A day within my life it seems so very long

I wake up with the lark, and listen to his song

The chorus of the bird song echoes in my ears

And as I climb out of bed, I retrace back those years

 

For I remember long ago when I was a small lass

Waking to the bird song, But Crows did craw alas

Ice from my window I did scrape to see the trees

Shivering and shaking as I felt the morning breeze

 

My first task of the morning was to light the daily fire

As I held up the paper and shovel it could take up to an hour..

I can still smell the soot, as back down the smoke did blow

 And birds would peck the milk tops, on the steps in snow

 

The porridge pan would burn, as I forgot to stir

Combing and brushing my little sisters hair

Shoelaces and school ties I did have to tie

And Mum still in bed, as we all said our goodbyes

 

Pulling up my school socks with elastic garter rings

School satchel on my shoulder, with teeth a chattering.

Red berry for a hat that was neither here nor there

Fountain pen that leaked, But no one seemed to care

 

Skipping in the school yard, and assembly singing songs

Religious instruction we’d all go to our rooms

School dinners that were wholesome, sponge pudding too.

Teachers got respected, as we were told what to do..

 

I now looked in the mirror and saw reflected me

And reached down, and began to rub my knee

My eyes misted over, in silly flood of tears

As I remembered those school days, back all those years..

Dreamwalker

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Romeo
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 03:07:29

    ___ç$$$ç___$$$$$$$_####______####___*$$$$$$ç####___########_____*$$$$$$$$$$$##########_____$$$$$$$$$$$$$##########______$$$$$$$$$$$$$##########______$$$$$$$$$$_$$$##########______$$$$$$$$$$##$$$##########_______$$$$$$$$$_##$$###########______$$$$$$$$$$___$$#########_## _____$_$$$$$$$$$$__$$_######_## ___$$__$$$$$$$$$$_$$$__######______$$$$$$$$$$__$$$___#####______$$$$$$$$$___$$____####_# ______$$$$$$$$$_________##_# ______$$$$$$$$__________##_______$$$$$$___________##_______$$$$$$_______$$$$$$$_______$$$$$$$$_______$$$$$$$$_______$$$$_$$$$_______$$$___$$$$__ççç$$$$$$_çç$$$ ¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸╔╗║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *║╚╣║║║║╩╣* * * ╚═╩═╩═╩═╝.*.* ~ROBERTI love you not because of who you are,but because of who I am when I am with you. Every day is so WonderfulWe are Beautiful in every single wayno matter what they say. http://www.rcarecords.com/media/christina_aguilera/video/beautiful_300.asxhttp://www.fileden.com/files/2007/5/3/1043033/COWGIRL.gifhttp://www.fileden.com/files/2007/5/3/1043033/WANA%20BUD.gifhttp://www.fileden.com/files/2007/5/3/1043033/dovefromabove.gifhttp://www.fileden.com/files/2007/5/3/1043033/lacetattoo.gif¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.¸.. * . (\\ *** /) * . *.*.*..*.*..*.*..* .* . * ( \\(_)/ ) * * . MAKE EVERY DAY SPECIAL.* . * (_ /|\\ _) . * . ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥.* . * . /___\\ * . . * . * . *.*. * .¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.¸╔╗║║╔═╦╦╦═╗*. . *║╚╣║║║║╩╣* * * ╚═╩═╩═╩═╝.*.* ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥ яσвєят¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸

    Like

    Reply

  2. Pj
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 17:56:37

    You are Awesome Dreamwalker!!! Happy Easter Pj xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  3. H
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 19:47:17

    How beautifully written .. take good care of you always, love H xo

    Like

    Reply

  4. Zeynep
    Apr 12, 2009 @ 22:09:56

    I like your poem Dreamwalker. Sometimes I look at that mirror too. Have a nice weekend, love and peace, Zeynep xx

    Like

    Reply

  5. Kingfisher
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 09:09:14

    How lovelt Dreamwalker well written and very moving xxx

    Like

    Reply

  6. Jodine Derena
    Apr 13, 2009 @ 11:01:49

    Really awesome of you to share a snippet of your past life with us. I could smell the fire and soot and visualise you getting yourself and sister off to school in a wooden log cabin of all things!… we really had no choice back then but to brave the weather in all her glory just to get to school… Could think of better things to do… Love to you. Jx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Lynn
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 03:53:06

    Hi Dreamwalker, that really felt like you was writing about my childhood..I\’ve really missed reading ur beautiful poetry, couldn\’t wait to get hereAnd it was worth the wait, absolutely outstanding work….It\’s been a while but hopefully will catch up with you, many thanks forThe kind visits also…Hugs and love… xxx Lynn xxx

    Like

    Reply

  8. Rosemary
    Apr 14, 2009 @ 18:40:25

    lovely poem

    Like

    Reply

  9. Sweet
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 00:13:06

    Lovely Poem well done brings back memories for me as well xx

    Like

    Reply

  10. Polly
    Apr 15, 2009 @ 13:30:28

    How we reflect back overtime in our lives when we were younger, i too rememember lots of what you have written in your poem dreamwalker ….. beautiful how you have written it, but at times sad too ..hugs xxx

    Like

    Reply

  11. Diane
    May 19, 2009 @ 04:57:12

    ah so lovely yes they were the days thats or sure sure do touch a nerve that well done keep it up babe loved it hugs Diane xxx

    Like

    Reply

  12. Happy JAK
    Jun 07, 2009 @ 20:49:01

    Magical memories! Love the image too! I loved skipping in the school yard, soo much fun, and I had a giggle at the porridge burning, not that I burnt the porridge… yeah right. Wasn\’t it fun and a real privledge to help in the kitchen just to stir the porridge.

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

April 2009
M T W T F S S
« Mar   May »
 12345
6789101112
13141516171819
20212223242526
27282930  

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

