A Mother’s Thoughts

Happy Mothers Day Pictures, Images and Photos

 

 

  A Mother’s Thoughts.

I am so very lucky..  Having two Wonderful Children.. And had such lovely Gifts today.. The best Gifts being that of my kids..

I try to be a good mum. My two children having left the nest a while ago.. I try not to ruffle their feathers keeping out of their hair, but letting them know I am always here if they should need me.. And I go visit every couple of weeks or so, and know how I’m so lucky that they live close by.

I sent up a Mother’s Day thought today to my own Mother, who passed a few years ago now.. And I think of all the wasted years we had, when she stopped talking to me.. Despite repeated efforts to mend the rift, I gave up in the end.. So sad really as she missed out so much on her grandkids, and I never stopped them either from seeing her, they just made up their own minds to stop going as she posioned their minds against me and their Dad and Granddad.. such was her bitterness..

It struck me.. how many people waste so much precious time wrapped up in bitterness, How when couple’s divorce and parents ask children to take sides, or cloud their minds with bitter vengeful words.

My own children made up their own minds about their Gran and Grandad.. Children are very astute when discerning faults from their parents.. I know, I grew up in very turbulent circumstances of parents who had violent rages of which we as children would get caught up in and told to take sides..Or were told to say this or that and say nothing..or else! 

We as Mothers try our best for our children, we can lead them to water, but we can’t make them drink.. And for a time when my own daughter was a teenager, I thought I was repeating the same pattern as my Mother and I had when I was a teenager, arguing. Laying down ground rules.. Nothing seemed to work.. Until one day I said ok ‘I let go’.. and in letting go of the reigns I let my daughter find her own direction.. And if that meant making her own mistakes then so be it.. Luckily she turned a corner, and came back onto the path and I am such a proud Mother today of both my children.

Sometimes learning to love is learning to let go.. It’s a bitter pill to swallow, but one that at times is needed in order for healing to take place.. I have read some recent Blogs of late upon letting go..

I spent so many years feeling Guilt for my Mother, thinking I should have tried harder or changed her. But each of us needed to experience those lessons about Love along our pathway in life.. My Mother could never ‘Give’ of herself, she was a taker, very selfish, and her bitterness was etched in her voice and face of how life had dealt her this bad deal..

When in fact we are the ones that hold the pack of cards, and it’s up to us as individuals as how we play them..

I wish all of you Mum’s out there a Great Mothers Day what’s left of it..

 And hope that your cards come up Trumps!… In all you do..

Dreamwalker

xx

13 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Queen
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 21:58:33

    Hi dosnt matter how old your kids are home is were the heart is, and some how we always go and enjoy been at mams but we never say it to them if you know what i mean lol, hope you have a great day should be taking it easy if your a mum its you day ha ha ha take care hugs Jo xxx

    Like

    Reply

  2. Babblelot
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 22:08:45

    Such wonderful ways you can express my dear. This post you graciously touched on many points we mothers face. We try so hard not to do the things we didn\’t like our own mother\’s doings. To hope we get enlightened somehow when solving the problems that arise and the awful letting go, much less hurtful. Our children always need us through their lives. It changes with stages of different needs. Have a wonderful day and enjoy your precious children. They are wonderful, as they reflect you a great Mom!

    Like

    Reply

  3. Barbara
    Mar 22, 2009 @ 23:27:59

    Great blog Dreamcatcher. I guess we all need to make our own lessons in life, letting go is one of them and letting our children make their own decisions, whether that be what we want or not, it is ultimately up to them. I am sorry to hear you had an astranged relationship with your mum, that must have been difficult. One thing I am so dearly blessed with is a wonderful family. We may not see each other much but I always know I can count on my mom and dad! We all live so far apart, but we still try to be a close family, my siblings and myself. I just hope that one day, my boys will feel the same way, that they can always come here, with open arms, that they enjoy coming home to visit and we have the type of relationship as I do with my parents and siblings. It is hard letting go and letting them fall and make their own path in life, sometimes I just want to pick them up, even though I can\’t. I will always be there for my children and accept what I have to and hopefully they turn out well!Take careBarbie

    Like

    Reply

  4. currie
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 01:55:56

    It\’s a very touching post! tho I\’m not a mom, I do understand what you mean.Anyway, have a happy mother\’s day!

    Like

    Reply

  5. freckles
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 02:25:13

    i can understand being hurt by a non giver ! actually thats a great way of putting it !ope you had a good day ~x~

    Like

    Reply

  6. Sweet
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 03:17:45

    lovely blog well done hope u had a gr8 day xx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Sue
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 03:45:53

    Good blog DreamwalkerHappy Mother DayTake careSue

    Like

    Reply

  8. HELLS
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 04:07:50

    FANTASTIC BLOG AND WELL SAID……..I KNOW TOO WELL OF THE VOICE ETCHED WITH BITTERNESS…..AND THE PACK OF CARD WE ARE DELT IN LIFE AND I COULDNT AGREE WITH YA MORE…….INDEED ITS HOW YOU PLAY THEM THAT COUNTS…….LOVED YOUR BLOG ABSOLUTLY WONDERFUL …..TAKE CARE…….

    Like

    Reply

  9. No
    Mar 23, 2009 @ 17:26:39

    Lovely blog Dreamwalker & so true. I miss both my mum & dad so much but I was blessed with wonderful parents & a happy life as a child. I do miss not having sisters or brothers but made sure I had 3 sons of my own to make up for being and \’only child\’ My partner & I have 7 grandchildren between us.Our mothers day is later than yours…I never realised that until I read this blog. Hope you had a blessed day.Love & friendship always…x0x…

    Like

    Reply

  10. Rosemary
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 03:11:05

    What a lovely Blog, and how very true it is.

    Like

    Reply

  11. Lady Jude
    Mar 24, 2009 @ 04:18:06

    Actually with letting our kids go and make the own choices and own mistakes. I\’m there with my son now. I realize I have to let go of the reins a wee bit more and let him be more independent. Hugs Lady Jude

    Like

    Reply

  12. Red
    May 17, 2012 @ 00:26:54

    Sue, the lesson here is a poignant one, my sweet friend. Indeed, the lesson of letting go is a tough one, regardless of whether we are letting go of our children or our pasts.

    You and your mother both needed the rocks in the path. They let you recognize when your path was smooth ever after. It also allowed you the wisdom to see what to do with your own children.

    This is a lovely tribute to Mother’s Day. Remembering what our mothers taught us, whether helpful or painful or merely what not to do, is part of the celebration.

    Your love for her is obvious. May you continue to find peace and healing.
    Much love, my dear friend,
    Red.
    xxx

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      May 17, 2012 @ 22:53:56

      My dear Red, thank you, Yes it took me a long while in healing but I now see why, and send her much love.. Thank you for taking such time to visit and read.. Much Love returned.. ~Sue

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

March 2009
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 1
2345678
9101112131415
16171819202122
23242526272829
3031  

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

