A Walk On the Moors

Another edge of the quarry face .We found 3 such Mill stones scattered on the Moor.Following the trail. 

This week I have taken some annual leave from work.. I set out with great intentions of doing wonders.. Instead I haven’t done half of what I wanted. And found myself visiting my sister, and taking an elderly Aunt out. Visiting my daughter, walking and resting..

I had intended to start a new painting, I was going to paint some of the mountains I had seen in Austria, but now I know why the painting was put on hold…For on Thursday I went walking over the North Derbyshire Peak District. No mean feat, but as my FMS is much improved of late; I took it steady even though my muscles did protest, I carried on, to worry about the reactions I knew would set in the following day.

And the rewards were to capture some of the most spectacular scenery the Derbyshire Moors can offer..  The pictures I took were on the Moors at a place called Surprise view near a small place called Hathersage in Derbyshire.

Derbyshire was the place I grew up in, and I love to revisit as often as I can.

And here waiting was why I had put off my painting, for I knew the moment I saw this beautiful sight that this was to be my next painting to hang beside the other rock formation painting that I did that you can see in my photo album in My Paintings in Acrylic paints..’The Salt Cellar’.

I'm thinking his would make another Great Painting to match  The Salt Celler I did

As we came off the Moors we walked through a beautiful Silver Birch Wood

Coming off the Moor we enter a beatuiful Silver Birch wood.

The morning walk over, we headed for an old haunt, a Pub.. This is the Barrel Inn at Bretton it was built in 1597 and is the highest Inn in Derbyshire commanding spectacular views of over five counties from its height of 1,275 feet above Sea level.

The Barrel Inn at Bretton, Derbyshire.2008 Sept.

What I found interesting, and took a photo of a photo in the Pub, was a picture taken of this Inn on the first day of Spring 1979 when there had been one of the heaviest snowfalls for some years.. That was in the days when Winter was Winter and Summer was Summer..  And we all knew how to dress accordingly lol.. I can recommend their superb food. I had steak and Ale pie, delicious.

The Barrel In in 1979 big snow

 

I came home tired, but with the picture I now intend to paint, to match this one.

The Salt Cellar on Derwent Edge Derbyshire.

 

Come and join me on my walk in my photo Album called Surprise View…

xx Dreamwalker xx

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. ALISON
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 20:59:01

    Im so pleased you enjoyed a lovely day out.We are of the same spirit Dreamwalker.I love nothing more than to walk out as one with nature.I love the beauty and tranquility.I can feel an inner peace and a healing from within.Your pictures are lovely and take you to as if you were really there.I hope you are enjoying all this lovely weather my very special friend.xxxxali

    Like

    Reply

  2. ann
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 21:26:48

    What a lovely day out you had ,and remember I would love to see the painting when it\’s finished . Take care love Ann xxx

    Like

    Reply

  3. Sheila
    Sep 27, 2008 @ 23:34:56

    That was a lovely walk Dreamwalker I very much enjoyed those lovely pictures. The painting is so lovely , look forward to seeing the results of your next one. Take care xxHope you are enjoying the lovely weather.

    Like

    Reply

  4. T
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 01:47:47

    Wow, what a nature there! I wish I could walk there too.
    Going to see the rest of photos now.
    Have a great sunday,
    hug,
    T

    Like

    Reply

  5. Sarah
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 05:18:36

    wow, what a painting–grabs my heart\’s attention…….

    Like

    Reply

  6. currie
    Sep 28, 2008 @ 10:23:51

    shangrila!!!!!!!!

    Like

    Reply

  7. soul
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 22:51:59

    great pictures, i can see me grabbing my walking boots and heading out for a walk. xxx makes you so want to be there. : )

    Like

    Reply

  8. Stevy
    Sep 29, 2008 @ 23:16:36

    Dreamwalker, I sure enjoy you a lot.  Your pictures remind me what a beautiful country you have.  I want to show Jiawen the world, and one of the first countries outside of the US to go to must be England (beautiful & I know the language).  Derbyshire seems a cool place to go to.  Love to stay at that old inn.  Awesome.  It will be my first adventure out of London.
     
    You were right about needing a change of clothes here in Chengdu after riding the taxi.  Of course it would be clothes for your next life..hehehe.  It was just unbelievable, the mad chaos.  I\’ll be back in the states this Saturday…interenet is too slow to post/view pictures at this hotel.  Thanks for the comments you leave.  Nice to know I have a friend with me while I travel. xxxxxx  Steve            Paint a nice picture.

    Like

    Reply

  9. Kingfisher
    Sep 30, 2008 @ 01:19:39

    How lovely to walk with you on this tour Dreamwalker and how lovely it is to walk with you Spiritually also thanx for sharing and thanx for being a great friend  we all love you dearly xxx

    Like

    Reply

  10. Babblelot
    Oct 01, 2008 @ 05:46:05

    Your part of the world is so different than mine. I really want you to know I enjoy your creative paintings and pictures of where you live. Thank you for the tour.

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

September 2008
M T W T F S S
« Aug   Oct »
1234567
891011121314
15161718192021
22232425262728
2930  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Samhain Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

