Animal Guides and Totems

wolves-3

 

Have you noticed here on spaces how many of us love our animal pictures? None so more than I, who adores the wolf, Bear and Eagle, along with our more normal pets of Dogs and Cats..

I know that our animals have more of a sixth sense than we  do, My own pets, have always known when  to give me that extra healing love, and known also when danger is around..

It was said that in the last Tsunami in Indonesia that fateful Christmas time, that the elephants and animals took themselves off to higher ground before the wave struck and so were saved.

I know that I have a Bear totem, which protects me, I have seen him, all be it with my third eye, but I know he exists never the less.  This for some of you may be a hard to believe, but the concept of animal guide is not a new one.  Long before our ancestors arrived on the continent of America, the Native Americans believed that All life was sacred, and that animals played an important role in daily spiritual life. History shows that many cultures believed in animals and messengers or deities of the Gods, Including Ancient Egyptians, Africans, Aztecs and Mayans, and don’t forget the Mytholigical animals, such as Dragons, Unicorns, Pegasus, and the Minotaur.

But in modern life we push these ideas to one side saying that they are superstitions of myths.. But many of our ancestors looked to the animal kingdom and knew of the connectedness between the Earth and our Creator.

How do you know if you have an Animal Guide? Chances are you have several. Often, the easiest way to find out what creature is your spirit animal is to think about an animal that you have a particularly strong connection to. Many people have a favourite, maybe one they completely obsess over. Is your home decorated with dolphins, Wolves  etc? Does a friend’s normally shy cat instantly come to sit near you? These animals are probably connected to you on a spiritual level.

It may surprise you to know that if there is an animal you absolutely hate, or has you running from the room . . . that animal more than likely has a spiritual meaning or a message for you. If you absolutely can’t stand this creature, ask yourself what aspect of your life terrifies you, or what about yourself have you been avoiding? Often coming to terms with the message these animals bring will bring you some relief from those strong reactions.

Here are some ways to interpret what your guide may be trying to tell you. First, think about what that animal means to you. Write some words or phrases that come to mind about that animal. Now think about how those traits might relate to you. Are these things you could stand to work on, or do you feel that they are your strong points? You can enhance your knowledge of your spirit animal by studying its behavioural traits and social structure, along with its mythology and history.

There are no hard or fast rules to meditation.. Trust your intuition. When you’re working out the specific meaning of your animal and you feel that one trait or behaviour suits you more than another, go with it. Keep a journal, writing about the animal to get in better touch with them.

wolves-3

Enjoy the journey
Dreamwalker
17 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Walter
    May 27, 2008 @ 20:55:34

    I for one do not find what you wrote hard to believe Animals as you have
    so adequately pointed have a sixth sense And know a lot more than we
    give them credit for.  I also believe some one watches over us In my case
    I believe my grandfather as I could have been killed several times and in
    the worse instances I only had shock and scrapes
    Am I right thinking this? I just wish I could communicate with him.
    love and hugs Walter xxx  

    Like

    Reply

  2. She Wolf
    May 27, 2008 @ 21:33:58

    Well Blow me down with a feather Dreamwalker,
    I totally believe this, in fact i got a message the other day telling me i was really stupid for talking
    as a dog, needless to say i never answered them back….lol
     
    I feel sooooo in touch with my Xena, whom has in turn taught me a lot about myself i did not know,
    to which i then got to learn more about the Wolves which leed me to Native American Spirituality.
    In many ways i feel part of Xena and Xena feels prst of me, whenever i fee lonely she is by my
    side, whenever i am sad she licks thew tears, whenever i am happy she enjoys the happiness too.
    I know she is animal and it was up to me to get down to her level towards a better understanding
    of my dog, after all i could not expect Xena to become human. The bond we have is precious, something
    that will never leave my heart and i thank her her for that and all her teachings too.
     
    Oh, Golly, i\’m blabbering again, i could write on and on….lol
    Thank you for that Dreamwalker, i really enjoyed that.
     
    Love Diane xx

    Like

    Reply

  3. H
    May 28, 2008 @ 05:23:46

    Hiya Dreamwalker .. I really loved this post … thank you. I believe my totem animals to be the eagle, tiger, wolf and polar bear. I too believe that our pets and all animals are even more sensitive to the spirit world than we, as humans, can ever be. I know full well that our beloved lil terrier TJ seems to know just when I need that extra cuddle from her. No accidents or coincidences …. I also believe that little children are very sensitive as well and most lose this sensitivity as they grow in age. Take care of you always, love H xo

    Like

    Reply

  4. Sue
    May 28, 2008 @ 12:11:04

    Hi DreamwalkerWonderful post, I know and believe with all my heart our dog Foxy ( who think she person and not a dog) know of our dauighter car accedent befor we did, just by the way she acted and the things she did,Take careSue

    Like

    Reply

  5. Zeynep
    May 28, 2008 @ 18:16:19

    Very interesting post. I always find some different things
    on your space. And pictures also… Thanks for stopping by.
    God bless you too my friend. cheers, Zeynep xx

    Like

    Reply

  6. ann
    May 28, 2008 @ 22:55:28

    Very interesting and I do agree I think animals do have a sixth sense we used to have dogs but have never had one for a good few years now but yes i always thought they were so sensitive they no when you are happy or sad . Love as always Ann xxx

    Like

    Reply

  7. Teira
    May 29, 2008 @ 07:51:58

    Very true indeed…

    Like

    Reply

  8. Kenneth
    May 30, 2008 @ 16:21:12

    Interesting post.  It would also be interesting to see some photographs of your "own" pets. or even one of yourself !!!

    Like

    Reply

  9. T
    May 30, 2008 @ 23:59:00

    I agree with you completely!
    I live with animals for whole my life and can\’t imagine a day without them.
    They give so much, more than …
    I\’ll be very happy if we become friends.
    Have a great week!
    Tanja

    Like

    Reply

  10. soul
    May 31, 2008 @ 00:58:04

    could not agree more Dreamwalker. i have a very special animal guide who is always at my side.a great comfort to me just as your bear is to you.god bless xx

    Like

    Reply

  11. Zeynep
    May 31, 2008 @ 01:00:25

    Thanks for stopping by. Glad you like the entry. And I like your
    view point. Have a great weekend to you too. Hugs, Zeynep xx
     

    Like

    Reply

  12. Romeo
    May 31, 2008 @ 03:17:36

     
    ¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸
    .. * . (\\ *** /) * . *.*.*..*.*..*.*..* .* . * ( \\(_)/ ) * * . ONLY YOU CAN CHANGE THE FUTURE
    .* . * (_ /|\\ _) . * . ♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥♥.* . * . /___\\ * . . * . * . *.*. * .¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.•*´¨`*•.¸¸.• •*´¨`*•.http://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1pqWtOuLRmkXd0-2tv7JTk4YT8zK4RDVs0AdNQbE2-9nQc9V6klXULsp-d3p09BJKa7HwKVvPT77ghttp://byfiles.storage.live.com/y1pqWtOuLRmkXco6_p9_FqfVq8on1QneGeGU1Qu6zFlu4PEzBJuagSoHSWRRHI0zcKfaqUkiTENer4Life is about The most important thing in any game Is not to win but to take part. Similarly the most important thing in any game is not the triumph but the struggle. The essentiel thing is not to have conquered but to have fought well. Mistakes are lessons When you make a mistake don\’t look back at it long. Take the reason of the thing into your mind and then look forward. Mistakes are lessons of wisdom; the past cannot be changed. The future is yet in your power. People never forget People will forget what you said.People will forget what you did.  But people will never forget how you made them feel. Treat everyone as special Beginning today, treat everyone you meet as if they were going to be dead by midnight. Extend to them all the care, kindness and understanding you can muster and do it with no thought of no reward. Your life will never be the same. Be yourself   Don\’t try to be someone you\’re not for someones\’s sake. Don\’t change who you are; If people don\’t accept you the way you are It will be their lost. The important thing is to love yourself. Why not you Today is a new day Many will seize this day Many will live it to the fullest, Why not you! In life we learn We learn that some people are never what they appear to be. Some we can easily trust And there are the one you doubt; But a wise man told me once Ask your heart,  it will always tell you. How do we show love It\’s not by the words we say words are very deceiving; but love is always shown by the way we act and the things we do. http://www.fileden.com/files/2007/11/16/1588896/10%20You%20Can%20Still%20Be%20Free.mp3

    Like

    Reply

  13. Lynn
    May 31, 2008 @ 13:47:32

    Morning Dreamwalker,
    You always do a beautiful read here on spaces, I\’ve never thought of an
    animal guide as I love all animals, I do however love the squirrels but
    it\’s probably because I hand reared three of them and got to know what
    it\’s like to be part of them, lol…
    Anyway my dear friend, thanks for all you do in this life, you have had
    a big impact in my life and I would like to thank you from the bottom of
    my heart, God bless you always, love…Lynn xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  14. Valerie
    May 31, 2008 @ 20:55:23

    I breed parrots & canaries now & have a dog, but know for sure that having been a breeder of \’Persian Cats\’ for almost 20 years that I have a special bond with cats. Even when I felt unwell it was as if they knew, and would curl up beside me and keep me company. I am positive we are in some way connected to our animals because they can sense our innermost feelings. Your photos are beautiful.
    Love Valerie x0x

    Like

    Reply

  15. Michelle
    Jun 01, 2008 @ 00:23:43

    Dramwalker
    we are born with animal guides that help wtch over us and teach us. Then you know some of my animal guide but I have much more to keep secret until I reveal them in my writings. Have a great week-end

    Like

    Reply

  16. Samanthamj
    Nov 27, 2011 @ 20:54:15

    Hmmm.. Interesting. Do you think it is possible, to have Animal Guides passed down? Or shared by a loved one? I ask, because my father and I shared a deep connection in general, but, especially with our love of dogs… and fascination/admiration of wolves… but, I always thought he taught me a lot of what I know about animals… and that made me feel the way I do about them… especially dogs… as, I now try to teach my children…

    Like

    Reply

    • Sue Dreamwalker
      Nov 28, 2011 @ 18:25:04

      I dont know whether one can be pasted down or not.. But if you have an affinity with that particular animal guide then why not!… To share such a deep connection shows that you both have been brought together with your Power Animal.. for if it bringing to you its lessons which I am pleased to see you are passing on to your own children. xx

      Like

      Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

May 2008
M T W T F S S
« Apr   Jun »
 1234
567891011
12131415161718
19202122232425
262728293031  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

