My Walk to Lathkill Dale.

DSCN1377

Yesterday I went out with my Hubby, we drove out into the Derbyshire Dales, and I think we picked the best day weather wise.. On the Open tops of hills it was extremely windy, but where we walked in the valley it was cool but calm, although we could hear the wind whistling above our heads..

We drove above the Market Town of Bakewell, I used to go to Secondary Girls School here for four years, after failing the 11plus.. I used to have to travel a distance of 5miles to school and 5miles back each day on the school bus, as I lived in a small village..

When I left school I went to work in Bakewell. In a textile factory, Sewing garments in the ‘Rag Trade’..Can anyone remember the ‘Rag Trade’ on BBC TV? .. Well it was very similar.. haha.. Although we didn’t have a Reg Varney, but there was this girl who had similar traits to ‘Sheila Hancock’… Although she never blew her whistle shouting.. “ Everybody Out!”.. hehehe..

Well we decided to travel to Lathkill Dale..  Lathkill Dale is one of the finest limestone valleys in the country. It has steep inclines and has a beautiful stream that opens out into lagoons further downstream.

We took the right-hand route. As it is a much straighter path an flatter.. As I am still not up to the mark physically.

The sun was shining and it was an ideal day for strolling, for we just took our time enjoying the scenery, as I couldn’t rush.. We saw lot of birds, woodpigeon, blackbirds, wren, and pied wagtail. Moor hens and ducks, squirrels, but most too quick for my camera skills….

The walk started off very pleasant, and we were greeted by a very enthusiastic playful Labrador dog, that decided to charge away from his male owner a 100yards away, he proceeded to bound through all the muddy puddles wagging his tail as if we were some long lost doggie friend… Despite the desperate whistles and shouts from his owner.. he bounded towards me as if he was a guided missile, and Jumped… Yes Jumped.. Almost pushing me to the ground.. He licked me jumped and sniffed and ran circles around me.. I can only think that my coat being the same shade as his..( Pale beige..) he thought he’s found his mate??

Well as you can guess my coat was now no longer that pale shade but had huge foot prints all over.. By this time the owner had puffed his way to us, and after several commands on deaf ears.. the Labrador sat.. .. We assured the now red faced owner that he had done nothing wrong, he just wanted to make friends.. ( I’ll Choose my walking attire more carefully in future).. maybe bright red, well maybe not, just in case we come across a Bull.. Who wanted to ‘make friends’ hahaha…

We walked on..

This valley has lots of caves and was used for Lead mining.. You will see the ruins of an old engine house and old bridge.. IF you look closely at the photos you will see them.

Throughout many places in Derbyshire you can see the old mine workings of lead and tin mines.. What amazed me was for long stretches of this water way was hand build stone walls that held the water into channels.. if you look at the map picture closely you can see how it was channelled in places.

We walked for around two hours, then got in the car and drove to Baslow. Where we had a wonderful lunch with apple pie and custard in the Wheat Sheaf Pub.. An excellent day..

Hope you enjoy the photos..

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lynn
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 21:04:36

    Wow Dreamwalker,
    It looks really nice, I had to smile at the bit about the dog though, lol…
    Also anyone who reads this I can\’t remember the Rag Trade, must be
    too young, hehehe….Sheila Hancock, I haven\’t heard her name for a
    while, not that good at telling lies either, lol…
    Thanks for sharing your beautiful words friend, don\’t get overdoing
    things, get well first….Much love, Lynn xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  2. Miss
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 21:05:05

    Thank you so much for sharing your day with us xx i love places like this…even if a mad dog comes charging up (lol)
    when i walk Milo around our coast to the lighthouse there are old quarry holes and caves xx they hold so much history and stories xx

    Like

    Reply

  3. ALISON
    Mar 22, 2008 @ 23:16:14

    My sort of day out dreamwalker.Many people fail to see the beauty of nature around them and appreciate it.You\’ve made me curious now as Ive been to Bakewell before but never on the walk that you have described.I will have to go one day and take a picnic for the boys.Fresh air is the best medicine for you dreamwalker….errr well maybe without the big dog.Isnt it funny how all animals make a bee line for me too lol.Im so pleased you had a lovely time.Ill catch you when I return home….until then take it easy my frind…much love ali xxxxxxx
    p.s castleton is another place out to enjoy the outdoors xxxx

    Like

    Reply

  4. Carole
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 01:22:41

    sounds like a lovely day dreamwalker, even the dog had fun ha ha,  I remember the rag trade he he,it was great ( everyone out !)
    enjoyed your pic\’s, lets hope our friend comes back soon, hey, x x

    Like

    Reply

  5. Kingfisher
    Mar 23, 2008 @ 02:12:01

    Wonderful day out Dreamwalker & The Dog sure made your day I think lovely picture !Thanx for sharing & incorporating your lovely sense of humour ..lol love it so much thank you xxx

    Like

    Reply

  6. tony
    Mar 27, 2008 @ 20:54:47

    Had a bit of spare time today so was checking through my space,, There you was…in the Guest book…. back in January!!!!?? I can\’t believe I forgot all about you!!  so sorry about that..  My memory ain\’t what it used to be…lol…  but I do remember watching \’the rag trade\’.
    Great pics of the \’Dales\’ and a hilarious story to go with it as well…lol… I will keep my eyes open for that \’Labrador\’ if ever I visit the dales…lol… I\’m off to watch that \’video\’ now.  Once again, soz for my forgetfulness, Best wishes, x, Tony.

    Like

    Reply

Please leave me your Thoughts!.. and add your Beat to my Drum

Dreams

Member of The Internet Defense League

British Red Cross

Please Support the Red Cross, Help Others.

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Speak Out Against Nuclear Power

Visitors from Around the World

Flag Counter
Follow Dreamwalker's Sanctuary on WordPress.com

Help the Humane Society International

Help us help them survive

Free E-Book True Awakening Experiences ~ Download your copy here!

Thanks to Barbara, for putting this E Book Together at http://memymagnificentself.wordpress.com/

Dates Dreamwalker Beat Her Drum

March 2008
M T W T F S S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

Tags

2012 Acrylic Painting Acrylics Allotment Allotment. Self Sufficiency Allotments Answers art Arts and Crafts Ascension Awaken Awakening Awards Awareness Balance Caring change Changes Children Choices Christmas Climate Change Collective Community compassion Consciousness. Consciousness. Community Consciousness. Illusions Conservation Crafts creativity Darkness Dreams Earth Earth Changes Earth Day Earth Mother Earth Shift Emotions Energies Energy Enlightenment Environment. Faith Family Fear Flowers Food Friends Gaia Garden Gardening Gifts Gratitude Gregg Braden Growing your own Grow your own Halloween Hamony happiness Harmony Healing Health Heart Hearts Hobbies Hope Humanity Illusion Indigenous people Inner thoughts Inspired Intuition journey joy Knitting life Light Lightworkers love Mankind Mass Consciousness Mayan Calendar Media Medicine Wheel meditation mind Mother Earth music Native American Indians Nature New Earth News New Year Numbers Ocean Oneness Painting Paintings Pastel Drawings. Peace Personal Responsibility Planet Earth Planting Poem poems Pollution Positive Positive Thinking Prayer Recipes Remembrance Day Sadness Scotland Seeds Self Self Sufficiency Shift Short Stories. Signs Soul Sound Spirit Spiritual Spring Storms The Great Purification thoughts Time Trancend transformation. transformation. Energy Travel Trees Truth Unity Unity Consciousness Universe Vacation Vegetables Vibration. Vision Quest Walking War wars Watercolour Painting Weather web world World Peace

Stop Fracking in the UK..

Click to follow link to site

